Moscow Formula E: Jean-Eric Vergne beats Nelson Piquet Jr to pole

From left, Piquet Jr., Vergne and di Grassi

Jean-Eric Vergne (Andretti) will start from pole position for the Moscow ePrix ahead of Nelson Piquet Jr (NEXTEV TCR) and Audi Sport ABT’s Lucas di Grassi.

The Frenchman clinched his third pole position of the season but it wasn’t without incident as Vergne clipped the wall on the exit of the final corner on his flying lap.

Di Grassi will line-up third behind title rival Piquet and in front of e.dams-Renault driver Sebastien Buemi. Following his dominant form in the morning practice sessions, Buemi complained that he was hampered on his second attempt by Virgin Racing’s Jaime Alguersuari.

Winner last time out in Berlin, Jerome D’Ambrosio will start fifth alongside Nicolas Prost (e.dams-Renault) who looked on course for provisional pole position with two purple sectors but lost time in the final part of the lap to put him sixth on the grid.

Daniel Abt (Audi Sport ABT), Nick Heidfeld (Venturi), Jarno Trulli (Trulli) and Stephane Sarrazin (Venturi) round out the top-10 positions.

On his first outing in Formula E, Andretti’s Justin Wilson ended the session 13th. Dragon Racing’s Loic Duval will line-up 19th after his car stopped at the exit of the Turn 11 hairpin.

The Moscow ePrix gets underway at 16:00 (local time).


01 27 Jean-Eric Vergne Andretti 6 1:09.429s +0.000s
02 99 Nelson Piquet NEXTEV TCR 6 1:09.449s +0.020s
03 11 Lucas di Grassi Audi Sport ABT 6 1:09.685s +0.256s
04 9 Sebastien Buemi e.dams-Renault 6 1:09.826s +0.397s
05 7 Jerome d'Ambrosio Dragon Racing 6 1:09.967s +0.538s
06 8 Nicolas Prost e.dams-Renault 7 1:10.043s +0.614s
07 66 Daniel Abt Audi Sport ABT 7 1:10.075s +0.646s
08 23 Nick Heidfeld Venturi 6 1:10.098s +0.669s
09 10 Jarno Trulli Trulli 4 1:10.145s +0.716s
10 30 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 6 1:10.190s +0.761s
11 77 Salvador Duran Amlin Aguri 6 1:10.257s +0.828s
12 2 Sam Bird Virgin Racing 6 1:10.365s +0.936s
13 28 Justin Wilson Andretti 7 1:10.398s +0.969s
14 88 Antonio Garcia NEXTEV TCR 6 1:10.537s +1.108s
15 55 Antonio Felix da Costa Amlin Aguri 6 1:10.617s +1.188s
16 21 Bruno Senna Mahindra Racing 7 1:10.688s +1.259s
17 5 Karun Chandhok Mahindra Racing 5 1:10.697s +1.268s
18 3 Jaime Alguersuari Virgin Racing 6 1:10.941s +1.512s
19 6 Loic Duval Dragon Racing 6 1:11.141s +1.712s
20 18 Vitantonio Liuzzi Trulli 4 1:11.967s +2.538s

Leave a Reply