Tuesday IndyCar Barber Test – Afternoon Results

Scott Dixon

Target Chip Ganassi Racing's Scott Dixon put #9 Target Chevrolet atop the time sheets is this afternoon's Verizon IndyCar Series test session at Barber Motorsports Park. Reining series champion Will Power was second followed by Team Penske teammates Helio Castroneves and Simon Pagenaud.

Graham Rahal was the fastest Honda driver in fifth. Some drivers, like Ryan Hunter-Reay, did not run many laps today because they were running out of tires. Testing with a new aero package and they limit the teams to 6 sets of tires over two days?

Each driver was given 6 sets of tires to use for the 2 day test in Barber. The teams are allowed to take one set home with them to use for testing at the next track. Some teams are testing are Sebring next week and other teams are going to NOLA to test Monday and Tuesday.

I talked with one of the tire engineers and he stated that the are using more pressure in the tires due to the increased downforce on the cars.

Full times below. Lucille Dust reporting for AR1.com from Barber Motorsports Park


Pos Driver Team Car Time Behind Laps
1 Scott Dixon Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.3996s 0.0000s 49
2 Will Power Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.4984s 0.0988s 51
3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.5304s 0.1308s 60
4 Simon Pagenaud Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.5956s 0.1960s 54
5 Graham Rahal Rahal Letterman Lanigan Dallara/Honda 1m07.6203s 0.2207s 43
6 Charlie Kimball Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.6225s 0.2229s 50
7 Takuma Sato AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m07.6638s 0.2642s 29
8 Juan Pablo Montoya Team Penske Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.7109s 0.3113s 50
9 Josef Newgarden CFH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.7345s 0.3349s 39
10 James Hinchcliffe Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m07.7796s 0.3800s 54
11 Tony Kanaan Chip Ganassi Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.8081s 0.4085s 47
12 Stefano Coletti KV Racing Technology Dallara/Chevrolet 1m07.8776s 0.4780s 39
13 Carlos Huertas Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m07.8868s 0.4872s 38
14 Ryan Hunter-Reay Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m07.9023s 0.5027s 26
15 Jack Hawksworth AJ Foyt Enterprises Dallara/Honda 1m07.9572s 0.5576s 50
16 Carlos Munoz Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m08.0116s 0.6120s 34
17 James Jakes Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Dallara/Honda 1m08.0252s 0.6256s 36
18 Sebastien Bourdais KVSH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.0915s 0.6919s 27
19 Luca Filippi CFH Racing Dallara/Chevrolet 1m08.1197s 0.7201s 61
20 Gabby Chaves Bryan Herta Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m08.1868s 0.7872s 49
21 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport Dallara/Honda 1m08.3911s 0.9915s 31
22 Francesco Dracone Dale Coyne Racing Dallara/Honda 1m11.6317s 4.2321s 46

Leave a Reply