Dixon seeks to extend IndyCar streaks this season

Scott Dixon
Scott Dixon

In the final four races of the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series season, Scott Dixon earned two victories and a runner-up finish to climb to third in the championship standings.

In fact, Dixon has a nine-year streak of multiple victories in a season – the longest streak of any driver in the modern era — topped by six victories in his 2008 championship season.

A victory in the March 29 Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg, in which he's finished second on three occasions, or any of the 16 remaining races of the season would place him in select company.

Dixon can tie Bobby Unser, Emerson Fittipaldi and Helio Castroneves atop the all-time list with an Indy car victory in 11 consecutive seasons. In 2014, he tied Unser for fifth on the career victory list at 35. Al Unser with 39 wins is next up.

Dixon also is tied with Johnny Rutherford with 12 seasons with at least one victory. A.J. Foyt with 18 is the leader and Mario Andretti with 16 is second.

Dixon, 35, earned his first victory in the Lehigh Valley Grand Prix at Nazareth Raceway during the 2001 CART season (Kenny Brack was second and Paul Tracy was third). Along the way, Dixon has recorded Verizon IndyCar Series championships in 2003, 2008 and 2013 and the '08 Indianapolis 500 Mile Race victory – all with Chip Ganassi Racing Teams.

"There are lots of ups and downs; motor racing is like that," Dixon said of his success. "Some things are out of your control, but you have to keep digging and keep trying to do your best. I think that's what has prevailed for me. I love the sport and feel fortunate and love being a part of it and hope to continue to be a part of it for many years."

To see how Dixon stacks up, check out IndyCar.com.

Leave a Reply