Chevy wins 11 championships in 2014

Chevy powered Will Power to the IndyCar title

Chevrolet completed one of its most successful years in its motorsports history in 2014, earning five manufacturer and six driver championships in NASCAR, IndyCar, NHRA, United SportsCar Championship and Pirelli World Challenge series.

In addition, Chevrolet drivers won several noteworthy races in 2014, including the Daytona 500, Brickyard 400, IndyCar Dual in Detroit, NHRA U.S. Nationals and the 24 Hours of Daytona.

"Eleven championships mark one of our most successful racing seasons," said Jim Campbell, GM U.S. vice president of Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. "Winning races and championships on the track helps us develop better cars and powertrains for the showroom."

Chevrolet's wins in 2014 came on road courses, ovals and drag strips. Season highlights:

  • NASCAR Sprint Cup– Kevin Harvick, driver of the #4 Chevrolet SS, won the final race of the season to capture the NASCAR Sprint Cup championship – and helped highlight Chevrolet’s record-extending 12th consecutive Manufacturer Cup. The Bowtie brand has earned that award an unprecedented 38 times. Team Chevy drivers scored 20 race wins, including the Daytona 500 (Dale Earnhardt Jr.), Brickyard 400 (Jeff Gordon), and both races at the Michigan International Speedway (Jimmie Johnson and Gordon).
  • NASCAR Nationwide – Chase Elliott – the 18-year-old son of NASCAR legend Bill Elliott – captured the series championship behind the wheel of the #9 Chevrolet Camaro. The title makes Elliott the youngest champion of a NASCAR national series and helped Chevrolet earn the series’ manufacturer award (the first such title for Camaro in the series).
  • IndyCar – Driving the #12 Chevrolet, Will Power claimed 15 top-10 finishes – including three wins – on his way to his first drivers’ championship. Power’s three wins combined with nine other Chevy victories to help Chevrolet clinch its third straight manufacturer title. Power and Helio Castroneves also drove Chevrolet to a sweep of the two IndyCar races at the Chevrolet Detroit Belle Isle Grand Prix.
  • NHRA Pro Stock – Erica Enders-Stevens became the first woman to win the Pro Stock championship and only the third woman in NHRA history to win a series championship. Camaro drivers secured the top four positions in the highly competitive class, helping Chevrolet earn its 20th NHRA manufacturer title – the most of any manufacturer in NHRA history.
  • NHRA Stock Eliminator – Bruno Massel won the Stock Eliminator class at the NHRA U.S. Nationals in a fifth-generation COPO Camaro. This was one of seven class wins by drivers in a COPO Camaro or COPO-powered race car.
  • IMSA/TUDOR United SportsCar Championship, Prototype Class – Co-drivers Joao Barbosa and Christian Fittipaldi won the Rolex 24 Hours at Daytona and two other races to clinch the Prototype drivers’ championship in the #5 Corvette DP. Those wins, combined with three victories from two other Corvette teams, helped Chevrolet secure the Prototype manufacturer title.
  • Pirelli World Challenge – Lawson Aschenbach drove a Camaro SS to four wins and the Pirelli GTS class drivers’ championship.

Corvette road racers also added SCCA Majors championships, topping the national rankings in a number of hotly contested classes, including Simon Gregg in GT1, Randall Kinsland in GT2 and Joseph Aquilante in T1. Additionally, Corvette racers Kyle Kelley and Andrew Aquilante took the checkered flag in the GT1 and GT2 classes, respectively, at the prestigious National Championship Runoffs.

"When you win key races and championships, good things happen. It helps lift the image and opinion of Chevrolet and customers are more likely to place our cars and trucks on their shopping list," said Campbell.

Leave a Reply