Third Skip Barber INDYCAR Academy Scholarship Shootout on tap

Sebring International Raceway will host the third Skip Barber INDYCAR Academy Scholarship Shootout on Dec. 15-17. The event is designed to provide aspiring racers without prior racing experience the opportunity to launch a career in motorsports. The winner of the competition will receive a scholarship toward the Skip Barber Regional Race Series.

Michai Stephens, who was the 2013 winner, was named a Team USA Scholarship recipient earlier this year and finished third in the Walter Hayes Trophy at Silverstone in England last month. In the Academy, drivers are tested in equally-prepared cars on a demanding circuit. Racers applied for the Academy after graduating from a three-day Skip Barber Formula Car Racing School and are required to follow that training with an Advanced Two-Day Racing School.

Leave a Reply