Lorenzo get first win of 2014

Jorge Lorenzo in the wet

Jorge Lorenzo took victory in a chaotic dry-wet race at Aragon, ahead of Aleix Espargaro and Cal Crutchlow on the podium. The race saw drama as Italians Valentino Rossi and Andrea Iannone both suffered big crashes in the dry before Marc Marquez and Dani Pedrosa went down after the rain began to fall.

Lorenzo (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) took victory by over 10 seconds as he judged the conditions better than his rivals, changing bikes with four laps to go, with Espargaro (NGM Forward Racing) just beating Crutchlow (Ducati Team) to the line to complete the podium. The riders were forced to change to wet set-ups in the final stages after the rain began to fall heavily – having started the race on a drying track.

The tricky conditions caused Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) to crash out before swapping to his wet bike and he was taken to the medical centre for checks on a hip trauma. Repsol Honda teammates Pedrosa and Marquez took a risk staying out in the wet on slick tires in the final laps. Pedrosa fell and remounted to take 14th with Marquez crashing later and finishing 13th after eventually swapping to his wet bike too.

The top five was completed by Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda MotoGP) and Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech3) as they took advantage of the crashes ahead of them. Smith just beat his teammate Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha Tech3) to the line by 0.203s.

The top ten was completed by Alvaro Bautista (GO&FUN Honda Gresini), Hiroshi Aoyama (Drive M7 Aspar), Nicky Hayden (Drive M7 Aspar) and Scott Redding (GO&FUN Honda Gresini).

Before the rain had fallen Iannone (Pramac Racing) crashed as he ran wide having led for the opening laps. He looked as though he might stay upright but wet grass sent him skyward. Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) had a similar incident, running wide and touching the grass resulting in a vicious highside. He was taken to the medical center but deemed ok, before being taken to hospital for precautionary head scans.

Karel Abraham (Cardion AB Motoracing) retired with a mechanical problem early in the race.


Pos. Points Num. Rider Nation Team Bike Time/Gap
1 25 99 Jorge LORENZO SPA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 44'20.406
2 20 41 Aleix ESPARGARO SPA NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha +10.295
3 16 35 Cal CRUTCHLOW GBR Ducati Team Ducati +10.312
4 13 6 Stefan BRADL GER LCR Honda MotoGP Honda +11.718
5 11 38 Bradley SMITH GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +29.483
6 10 44 Pol ESPARGARO SPA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 Yamaha +29.686
7 9 19 Alvaro BAUTISTA SPA GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda +29.763
8 8 7 Hiroshi AOYAMA JPN Drive M7 Aspar Honda +37.841
9 7 69 Nicky HAYDEN USA Drive M7 Aspar Honda +42.957
10 6 45 Scott REDDING GBR GO&FUN Honda Gresini Honda +53.937
11 5 9 Danilo PETRUCCI ITA Octo IodaRacing Team ART +59.824
12 4 15 Alex DE ANGELIS RSM NGM Forward Racing Forward Yamaha +1'00.718
13 3 93 Marc MARQUEZ SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda +1'15.227
14 2 26 Dani PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team Honda +1'24.526
15 1 68 Yonny HERNANDEZ COL Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Ducati +1'38.255
16 0 70 Michael LAVERTY GBR Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 1 Lap
17 0 63 Mike DI MEGLIO FRA Avintia Racing Avintia 1 Lap
18 0 23 Broc PARKES AUS Paul Bird Motorsport PBM 1 Lap
19 0 8 Hector BARBERA SPA Avintia Racing Ducati 1 Lap
DNF 0 4 Andrea DOVIZIOSO ITA Ducati Team Ducati 5 Laps
DNF 0 46 Valentino ROSSI ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP Yamaha 20 Laps
DNF 0 29 Andrea IANNONE ITA Pramac Racing Ducati 22 Laps
DNF 0 17 Karel ABRAHAM CZE Cardion AB Motoracing Honda 22 Laps

Leave a Reply