MAV TV 500 Fast Facts

Once again, for the third consecutive season, the Verizon IndyCar Series closes its season at Auto Club Speedway with the MAV TV 500 on Saturday, with the driving championship still in play.

Will Power, last year’s MAV TV 500 winner, is the points leader. The Team Penske driver increased his margin to 51 points over teammate Helio Castroneves with his 10th place finish in Sonoma on Sunday, while Castroneves ended in the 18th spot.

Simon Pagenaud stayed within striking distance, 81 points back, with a third-place finish at Sonoma. Two drivers, Ryan Hunter-Reay and race winner Scott Dixon remain championship eligible, but will be eliminated if Power participates in Friday practice, which would assure the Team Penske driver half points for the weekend. Juan Pablo Montoya was eliminated from the title chase at Sonoma.

There are 104 points available at Fontana, double the usual amount due to the fact it’s a 500-mile race. Hunter-Reay won the Indianapolis 500 while Dixon was the winner at the Pocono race.

The MAV TV 500 is a two-day event. Qualifying is set for Friday afternoon, followed by a practice session beginning at 6:15 p.m. The 250-lap race will take the green flag at 7:20 on Saturday evening.


Race No. 18, season finale
MAV TV 500
Auto Club Speedway

500 miles (250 laps), double points
Green flag: 7:20 p.m.
TV: NBCSN, 6 p.m.


8:30 a.m. – Parking lots open
9:30 a.m. – Infield viewing area open
10 a.m. – IndyCar Series practice (75 minutes)
2:15 p.m. – IndyCar Series qualifying
3:35 p.m. – Victory Lane Historic Champ/IndyCar showcase
6:15 p.m. – Victory Lane Historic Champ/IndyCar showcase
6:15 p.m. – IndyCar Series practice (30 minutes)

Noon – Parking lots open
4 p.m.– Fan Zone gates open
4 p.m. – IndyCar Series autograph session (Fan Village)
4 p.m. – Main stage music: Cheaper Trick
4:45 p.m. – Meta Mulisha freestyle Moto X
5:15 p.m. – Main stage music: American Hitmen
5:40 p.m. – Victory Lane Historic Champ/IndyCar showcase
6 p.m. – Meta Mulisha freestyle Moto X
6:30 p.m. – IndyCar Series driver introductions
7:20 p.m. – Green flag, MAZV TV 500 (250 laps)

General admission – $30
Reserved – $50
Premium Reserved – $60
Kids 12 and under are free with a Lefty’s Kids Club Membership
(Note: Race day sales increase by $5)
Pit Box Lounge $400 (expires Aug. 28)
– Pit Road Suite experience includes all-inclusive food and beverage menu, pit/garage access, Victory Lane access, VIP infield parking.
Budweiser Block Party $129 (expires Aug. 28)
– Fan Zone hospitality with premium grandstand seat, pit/garage pass and food and beverage
Pit/Garage Passes – $25
800-944-RACE or

Lightweight backpacks, no larger than 17 inches.
One soft-sided bag or cooler no larger than 6" x 6" x 12"; soft-sided insulated cooler may contain ice.
One clear plastic bag no larger than 18" x 18" x 4"; may not contain ice.
Binoculars, scanners, headsets, cameras (worn separately over the neck or on the belt), seat cushions (with compartments will be reviewed on an individual basis.
Strollers will be permitted in Fan Zone, not in grandstand seating areas, elevators or concourse.

Test Session
Auto Club Speedway, 4:30 – 10:30 p.m.
Tickets: Free for ticket holders (must present MAVTV 500 ticket or proof of purchase); purchase ticket by 8 p.m.; $10 charitable donation to the Auto Club Speedway Foundation.

Contenders Event
The Grove, Los Angeles (Third and Fairfax)
Noon – 3pm
Drivers: Will Power, Helio Castroneves Q&A. Activities: Astor Cup, live pit stop competition.
Hangar 24 Fan Party
Hangar 24 Tasting Room, 1710 Sessums Drive, Redlands
6 – 9 p.m.
Tickets: $20

IndyCar Driver Autograph Session
4 – 5 p.m.
IndyCar Fan Village, Fan Zone
Walk of Fame Induction Ceremony
2013 race winner Will Power
5 p.m., Gate C

Mark Blundell (1997), Jimmy Vasser (1998), Adrian Fernandez (1999), Christian Fittipaldi (2000), Cristiano de Matta (2001), Jimmy Vasser (2002)

Sam Hornish Jr. (2002-03), Adrian Fernandez (2004), Dario Franchitti (2005), Ed Carpenter (2012), Will Power (2013)

Length – 2 miles
Turns – 4
Banking – Turns: 14 degrees; frontstretch: 11 degrees; backstretch: 3 degrees
Qualifying – 241.428mph, Gil de Ferran (Penske Racing), Oct 28, 2000 (CART)

IndyCar Series Records
Qualifying – 226.757 mph, Helio Castroneves, Sept. 20, 2003
500 mile race – Ed Carpenter, 168.939 mph, Sept. 15, 2012

Leave a Reply