Did You Know? 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series championship

• Will Power leads the Verizon IndyCar Series championship with three races remaining for the third time in his career. He also led in 2010 and 2012.

• Power leads Helio Castroneves by four points. It’s the third time he’s led the championship this season.

• With 54 maximum points available at Milwaukee, the points lead could change as it did at Mid-Ohio. The championship lead has exchanged hands five times in 2014.

  1. Will Power: St. Petersburg-Grand Prix of Indianapolis
  2. Ryan Hunter-Reay: Indianapolis 500-Detroit 1
  3. Will Power: Detroit 2-Pocono
  4. Helio Castroneves: Iowa-Toronto 2
  5. Will Power: Mid-Ohio

• There are 11 drivers still mathematically eligible for the 2014 Verizon IndyCar Series championship: Will Power, Helio Castroneves, Ryan Hunter-Reay, Simon Pagenaud, Juan Pablo Montoya, Scott Dixon, Carlos Munoz, Sebastien Bourdais, Tony Kanaan, Marco Andretti and Ryan Briscoe.

• Three drivers were eliminated from championship contention at Mid-Ohio.

• Since the first Indy car race at Milwaukee in 1939, 18 drivers have won at Milwaukee in their Indy car championship-winning seasons: Ryan Hunter-Reay (2012), Dario Franchitti (2011), Sebastien Bourdais (2006), Al Unser Jr. (1994 and 1990), Nigel Mansell (1993), Michael Andretti (1991), Johnny Rutherford (1980), A.J. Foyt (1975 and 1964), Joe Leonard (1972), Al Unser (1970), Mario Andretti (1966), Rodger Ward (1962 and 1959), Jimmy Bryan (1956), Chuck Stevenson (1952), Tony Bettenhausen (1951), Johnnie Parsons (1949), Ted Horn (1947), Rex Mays (1941).

Drivers still eligible for championship: 11 Key championship points statistic: The driver who has led the championship with three races to go has failed to win the championship in four of the last five seasons. Only Dario Franchitti in 2011 won the title when he led with three to go.

Smallest 1-2 points differential since: 2009. With three races to go, the points battle (four points separate first and second) is the smallest that it's been since the 2009 season when first and second place were also four points apart. The average deficit with three to go since 2006 is 25.13 points.

Championship-eligible drivers with strong results at Milwaukee: Ryan Hunter-Reay is a three-time Milwaukee winner and has won the last two races at the track…Juan Pablo Montoya won the race in 2000.;.Will Power has top-10 finishes in two of his last three starts at Milwaukee…Helio Castroneves’ second place finish in 2013 was his best finish at the track since his first start in 1998.

Championship chases with three races left:

2013 Leader: Helio Castroneves (501) Second: Scott Dixon (-49). Third: Simon Pagenaud (-70) Final Margin and Champion: 27 points. Scott Dixon

2012 Leader: Will Power (379) Second: Ryan Hunter-Reay (-5). Third: Helio Castroneves (-26) Final Margin and Champion: 3 points. Ryan Hunter-Reay

2011 Leader: Dario Franchitti (475) Second: Will Power (-26). Third: Scott Dixon (-75) Final Margin and Champion: 18 points. Dario Franchitti

2010 Leader: Will Power (528). Second: Dario Franchitti (-23). Third: Scott Dixon (-85) Final Margin and Champion: 5 points. Dario Franchitti

2009 Leader: Ryan Briscoe (497). Second: Dario Franchitti (-4). Third: Scott Dixon (-20) Final margin and champion: 11 points. Dario Franchitti

2008 Leader: Scott Dixon (558). Second: Helio Castroneves (-78). Third: Dan Wheldon (-138) Final margin and champion: 17 points. Scott Dixon

2007 Leader: Dario Franchitti (518). Second: Scott Dixon (-8). Third: Tony Kanaan (-52) Final margin and champion: 13 points. Dario Franchitti

2006 Leader: Helio Castroneves (376). Second: Sam Hornish Jr. (-8). Third: Dan Wheldon (-17) Final margin and champion: Tie between Hornish and Wheldon. Hornish won by virtue of most victories

Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award

• Carlos Munoz currently leads Mikhail Aleshin in the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award standings by 102 points.

• If Munoz wins Milwaukee, he will eliminate Jack Hawksworth and Carlos Huertas from contention for the Sunoco Rookie of the Year Award.

Manufacturers Championship

• Chevrolet leads the Manufacturers Championship by 779 points over Honda.

• Chevrolet will clinch the championship at Milwaukee if it scores 93 points or more in the event.

Leave a Reply