Grand Prix Association of LB to Facilitate 2015 Long Beach ePrix

A shortened Long Beach track for Formula E

The Grand Prix Association of Long Beach, which owns and operates the annual IndyCar Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach, has been retained by the new all-electric FIA Formula E Championship to facilitate the operation of its inaugural Long Beach ePrix, set to take place Sat., April 4, 2015.

The Long Beach ePrix, round six of the world’s first fully-electric racing series and one of two US races alongside Miami, will feature 20 electric race cars piloted by top-class drivers on a portion of the traditional Grand Prix circuit on the downtown streets of Long Beach. The Formula E race circuit will incorporate seven turns and be 1.6 miles long, utilizing the same iconic start/finish line as the Grand Prix.

Admission to the Long Beach ePrix grandstands will be free through the series' Legacy Program – unique to Long Beach, giving free access to fans with a focus on attracting school and university students from the area to appeal to a new generation of motorsport fans and promote the electric vehicle industry.

"We're delighted that Formula E has selected Long Beach as the site for its first ePrix on the U.S. West Coast," said Jim Michaelian, president and CEO of the Grand Prix Association. “And the free admission will afford everyone the opportunity to come out and witness this historic and unique event."

Alejandro Agag, CEO of Formula E, said: “Jim and his team have a proven track record in operating one of the most famous street races in the US, so they were an obvious choice to help facilitate our Long Beach ePrix and we’re looking forward to working with Jim and his team to make this a fantastic spectacle for the people of Southern California.

"The US is a key market for Formula E due to its burgeoning electric vehicle infrastructure, and the only country to have two races. Not to mention live TV coverage provided via FOX Sports, a founding partner in technology giant Qualcomm and Wyc Grousbeck, lead owner of NBA basketball team the Boston Celtics, as one of the series’ investors."

Formula E is the FIA's (Fédération Internationale de l’Automobile) new open-wheel championship using electric race cars capable of speeds in excess of 150 mph. Its 10 teams feature some of the leading names in motorsport including two from the United States – Michael Andretti’s Andretti Autosport and Jay Penske’s Dragon Racing.

Among the 20 drivers who will drive in the series are two-time Long Beach IndyCar winner Mike Conway, 2006 Long Beach Atlantic Series winner Katherine Legge and former Formula One drivers such as Lucas di Grassi, Bruno Senna, Jarno Trulli, Jaime Alguersuari, Sebastien Buemi and Nick Heidfeld.

The first Formula E race will take place around Beijing’s Olympic 'Bird’s Nest' Stadium on Sept. 13. All Formula E events take place in one day – practice, qualifying and a one-hour race – in order to help minimize disruption to the city.

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :