Vettel and Ricciardo 1-2 in final wet British GP practice

They always say that rain is the great equalizer. Sebastian Vettel and Daniel Ricciardo topped the timesheets in their Red Bull Renaults on a damp final Formula 1 practice session for the 2014 British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

Vettel set a time of 1m52.522s on the wet track, edging his teammate by 0.109s. Both drivers completed just six laps.

A damp wind was blowing from the track making conditions tricky at best with a number of drivers spinning off.

Lewis Hamilton was provisionally half a second quicker than Vettel before running off-track at Stowe and heading immediately to the garage.

Lotus drivers Pastor Maldonado and Romain Grosjean were third and fourth fastest. Grosjean spun at the exit of Club and nearly hit the pit wall.

Adrian Sutil was fifth quickest, setting his best lap on intermediate tires just before the end of the session.

Teams did limited running because of the wet conditions at Silverstone, and Mercedes drivers Lewis Hamilton and Nico Rosberg did not set lap times, even though they were fastest in the first and second sectors.

Mercedes co-team boss Toto Wolff said: "It's not perfect with these conditions but it does not make a lot of sense to run at the moment. You need to save tires."

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso also chose not to set a time, while his teammate Kimi Raikkonen finished 10th.


Pos Driver Team Time Behind Laps
1. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m52.522s +0.000s 6
2. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1m52.631s +0.109s 6
3. Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault 1m53.044s +0.522s 10
4. Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1m53.566s +1.044s 6
5. Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1m53.585s +1.063s 12
6. Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1m53.654s +1.132s 15
7. Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1m53.911s +1.389s 5
8. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m54.041s +1.519s 6
9. Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1m54.217s +1.695s 4
10. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m54.558s +2.036s 5
11. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1m54.602s +2.080s 6
12. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1m54.761s +2.239s 13
13. Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1m55.003s +2.481s 4
14. Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1m55.688s +3.166s 6
15. Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1m56.918s +4.396s 7
16. Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1m57.091s +4.569s 10
17. Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1m57.566s +5.044s 6
18. Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 1m57.914s +5.392s 10
19. Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari No Time No Time 1
20. Fernando Alonso Ferrari No Time No Time 4
21. Nico Rosberg Mercedes No Time No Time 4
22. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes No Time No Time 5