Rosberg-Hamilton 1-2 in first British GP practice

Nico Rosberg

The Mercedes team continued their complete domination of the 2014 F1 season at Silverstone Friday. Nico Rosberg was quickest in first practice for the 2014 Formula 1 British Grand Prix, 0.731s faster than Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton who claims to be the better driver.

Hamilton did look as though he might overhaul his teammate at one point, going fastest of all in the first sector, but he had to back off because Marcus Ericsson spun at Becketts, bringing out the yellow flags.

Fernando Alonso was 0.839s off Rosberg's quickest in his Ferrari following a late rear-wing adjustment.

The more powerful Mercedes engine gobbles up the long straights at Silverstone

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo was fourth quickest but he had to stop when his Red Bull lemon broke down. He was three tenths faster than teammate Sebastian Vettel as both drivers were over 1-second slower that Rosberg, their Renault engine no match for the more powerful Mercedes at the fast Silverstone circuit.

Jenson Button was fastest of the two McLarens, who were split by the Toro Rossos of Daniil Kvyat and Jean-Eric Vergne.

Susie Wolff's much-anticipated track cleaning appearance came to an early end when her engine shut down after completing just four laps.

The only accident saw Felipe Massa run wide on the exit of Stowe after seven laps and spun back over the track, making a heavy impact with the inside wall.


Pos Driver Team Time Behind Laps
1 Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m35.424s +0.000s 25
2 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m36.155s +0.731s 22
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m36.263s +0.839s 23
4 Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1m36.623s +1.199s 21
5 Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m36.703s +1.279s 23
6 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m36.921s +1.497s 20
7 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m36.963s +1.539s 25
8 Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1m37.175s +1.751s 29
9 Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1m37.227s +1.803s 25
10 Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1m37.231s +1.807s 30
11 Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes 1m37.720s +2.296s 22
12 Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1m37.910s +2.486s 21
13 Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1m38.056s +2.632s 18
14 Daniel Juncadella Force India-Mercedes 1m38.083s +2.659s 23
15 Giedo van der Garde Sauber-Ferrari 1m38.328s +2.904s 19
16 Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1m38.917s +3.493s 12
17 Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1m39.461s +4.037s 7
18 Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 1m39.814s +4.390s 24
19 Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1m40.597s +5.173s 19
20 Robin Frijns Caterham-Renault 1m42.261s +6.837s 11
21 Susie Wolff Williams-Mercedes 1m44.212s +8.788s 4
22 Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault No time No time 2

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :