Esteban Ocon wins 5th F3 race of season

L to R Fuoco – Ocon – Auer

Esteban Ocon (Prema Powerteam) concluded his race weekend at the 4.381 kilometers long Hungaroring with yet another victory. The 17-year-old Lotus F1 junior driver won the twelfth season round of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship from Antonio Fuoco (Prema Powerteam), who is backed by the Ferrari Driver Academy, and Lucas Auer (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport). With his fifth win of the season, Esteban Ocon extended his lead in the drivers’ standings of the strongest junior single-seater race series and now has 82 points more than his nearest rival, Tom Blomqvist (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin). The Briton finished sixth in the race near the Hungarian capital of Budapest that was stopped early due to rain.

Esteban Ocon took the lead at the start. Lucas Auer only briefly kept Antonio Fuoco and his team-mate Felix Rosenqvist (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport) at bay, then he dropped back to fourth. Some drops of rain didn’t cause any changes to this order. Out in front, Ocon was able to extend his lead more and more until Rosenqvist had to turn into the pits for a drive-through penalty at the end of lap eight, after which Fuoco inherited second place. Earlier, the Swede had exceeded the track limits several times. Eventually, he took the checkered flag in 17th place.

The following laps didn’t bring many position changes either. Tom Blomqvist overtook Félix Serralles (Team West-Tec F3) for sixth on lap 14 and two laps later, Jake Dennis (Carlin) overtook his rival Nicholas Latifi (Prema Powerteam). The race director sent the safety car out on the track as rain set in again. The race was stopped at the end of lap 18. Esteban Ocon celebrated his fifth race win of the season while Antonio Fuoco and Lucas Auer joined him on the podium. Max Verstappen (Van Amersfoort Racing), Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin), Tom Blomqvist, Félix Serralles, Gustavo Menezes (Van Amersfoort Racing), Jake Dennis and Nicholas Latifi also made it into the top ten.

Results – 17 laps

Pos Driver Team/Car Time/Gap
1. Esteban Ocon (F) Prema Dallara-Mercedes 28m11.326s
2. Antonio Fuoco (I) Prema Dallara-Mercedes +4.756s
3. Lucas Auer (A) Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +5.663s
4. Max Verstappen (NL) Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW +6.875s
5. Antonio Giovinazzi (I) Carlin Dallara-VW +8.390s
6. Tom Blomqvist (GB) Carlin Dallara-VW +8.901s
7. Felix Serralles (PR) West-Tec Dallara Mercedes +11.142s
8. Gustavo Menezes (USA) Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW +14.162s
9. Jake Dennis (GB) Carlin Dallara-VW +16.124s
10. Nicholas Latifi (CDN) Prema Dallara-Mercedes +17.034s
11. Roy Nissany (IS) Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +20.588s
12. John Bryant-Meisner (S) Fortec Dallara-Mercedes +22.059s
13. Sean Gelael (RI) Carlin Dallara-VW +23.961s
14. Dennis van de Laar (NL) Prema Dallara-Mercedes +24.849s
15. Jules Szymkowiak (NL) Van Amersfoot Dallara-VW +25.133s
16. Tatiana Calderon (CO) Jo Zeller Dallara-Mercedes +26.264s
17. Felix Rosenqvist (S) Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +26.910s
18. Alexander Toril (E) T-Sport Dallara-NBE +30.480s
19. Hector Hurst (GB) West-Tec Dallara Mercedes +35.497s
20. Felipe Guimares (BR) Double R Dallara-Mercedes +35.817s
21. Michele Beretta (I) EuroInternational Dallara-Mercedes +39.909s
22. Spike Goddard (AUS) T-Sport Dallara-NBE +41.710s
23. Mitch Gilbert (AUS) Fortec Dallara-Mercedes +46.194s
DNF Sandro Zeller (CH) Jo Zeller Dallara-Mercedes 7 laps

Leave a Reply