Malaysian GP: Hamilton tops practice 1

Lewis Hamilton

Despite ending up in the gravel trap at the end of the first practice session for the Malaysian GP in Sepang, Lewis Hamilton turned the fastest lap in his superior Mercedes. Kimi Raikkonen was 2nd for Ferrari ahead of Hamilton's teammate Nico Rosberg in 3rd.

The Briton recorded his fastest time, a 1m40.691s lap, 0.152 seconds ahead of Ferrari's Kimi Raikkonen.

Jenson Button was 4th for McLaren and his teammate Kevin Magnussen rounded out the top-5.

Sebastian Vettel was a respectable 7th for Red Bull-Renault, 0.832s behind Hamilton as Mercedes powered cars dominated the top-10.


Pos Driver Team/Car Time Behind Laps
1. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes 1m40.691s +0.000s 19
2. Kimi Raikkonen Ferrari 1m40.843s +0.152s 20
3. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m41.028s +0.337s 19
4. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m41.111s +0.420s 20
5. Kevin Magnussen McLaren-Mercedes 1m41.274s +0.583s 18
6. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Renault 1m41.402s +0.711s 15
7. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m41.523s +0.832s 9
8. Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1m41.642s +0.951s 19
9. Felipe Massa Williams-Mercedes 1m41.686s +0.995s 23
10. Valtteri Bottas Williams-Mercedes 1m41.830s +1.139s 22
11. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m41.923s +1.232s 14
12. Daniel Ricciardo Red Bull-Renault 1m42.117s +1.426s 20
13. Adrian Sutil Sauber-Ferrari 1m42.365s +1.674s 21
14. Daniil Kvyat Toro Rosso-Renault 1m42.869s +2.178s 21
15. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari 1m42.904s +2.213s 23
16. Jules Bianchi Marussia-Ferrari 1m43.825s +3.134s 18
17. Marcus Ericsson Caterham-Renault 1m45.775s +5.084s 24
18. Max Chilton Marussia-Ferrari 1m46.911s +6.220s 10
19. Kamui Kobayashi Caterham-Renault 1m51.180s +10.489s 5
20. Sergio Perez Force India-Mercedes N/A N/A 2
21. Pastor Maldonado Lotus-Renault N/A N/A 2
22. Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault N/A N/A 4

Leave a Reply