Cooper confirmed as World RX tire supplier

Cooper Tire Europe has signed a three-year agreement with the FIA World Rallycross Championship presented by Monster Energy which will see the tire manufacturer supply its tires to drivers on all 12 rounds of the all-action Championship.

World RX, which is promoted by IMG Motorsport, has made a number of significant announcements over the past few months including the signing of former Formula One World Champion Jacques Villeneuve and several broadcasters who are set to air race action live to fans across the globe.

Cooper, along with its sister brand – Avon Tires – is the RallyCross tire of choice for competitors across the world, having supplied tires to European Rallycross Champions for the past two decades. In addition to World RX, Avon Tires is also exclusive tire supplier to the French Rallycross Championship, an agreement which began in 2013 and is set to last a further two years.

Martin Anayi, Managing Director of FIA World Rallycross Championship for IMG Motorsport, welcomed the Championship’s newest partnership: “We’re extremely excited about the inaugural World RX season and we’re thrilled to have Cooper on board for the next three years."

Anayi added: “Cooper has a very long and extremely successful history in the RallyCross arena and it’s undoubtedly the tire of choice for the vast majority of competitors. Ultimately, it is a result of these qualities that we and the FIA have selected Cooper as our exclusive tire supplier for the next three seasons."

Sarah McRoberts, Marketing Communications Manager for Cooper Tire Europe, added: “Rallycross is a very demanding sport which provides unique challenges. For competitors to tackle the changing surfaces, from tarmac to gravel, they need a tire which is capable of handling both rough and smooth surfaces. Meeting this unique challenge is something that Cooper excels at and particularly prides itself on. We’re very much looking forward to being part of the FIA World Rallycross Championship and this new chapter of RallyCross history."

The all-new FIA World Rallycross Championship will kick off with the season-opening round at Montalegre in Portugal (3-4 May).

Social Media Auto Publish Powered By :