IndyCar Series drivers add star power to 12 Hours of Sebring

Sebastien Bourdais seeks to make it two endurance race victories in a row as co-drives the Action Express Racing entry in the Twelve Hours of Sebring this weekend.

Bourdais, who will participate in the IndyCar Series Open Test on March 17-18 at Barber Motorsports Park with KVSH Racing, rejoins Christian Fittipaldi and Joao Barbosa in the Corvette Daytona Prototype. They won the Rolex 24 At Daytona in January.

Bourdais set the fastest lap time in two days of testing last month on the 3.74-mile circuit.

Simon Pagenaud, who earned a class victory in a rally race in France last weekend, will co-drive an Extreme Speed Motorsports HPD ARX-03b. Pagenaud, who teamed with Scott Dixon to start from the pole in the race at Sebring International Raceway in 2009, has finished second in class each of the past four years.

Dixon, the reigning IndyCar Series champion, will co-drive a Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates Daytona Prototype with 2013 Indianapolis 500 champion and new Target Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Tony Kanaan and 2013 Firestone Indy Lights champion Sage Karam.

Also on the entry list: Justin Wilson in the Michael Shank Racing with Curb Agajanian Daytona Prototype, Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires driver Gabby Chaves in the DeltaWing Racing Cars entry, Ryan Briscoe in the Corvette Racing GT Le Mans class entry and Ryan Hunter-Reay in the SRT Motorports car in GT Le Mans. Martin Plowman, who will drive for A.J. Foyt Racing in the inaugural Grand Prix of Indianapolis and make his Indianapolis 500 debut in May, will co-drive a BAR-1 Motorsports entry in the Prototype Challenge class. NBCSN IndyCar Series analyst and Indianapolis 500 competitor Townsend Bell will co-drive an AIM Autosport car in the GT Daytona class.

Leave a Reply