Indy Lights Field Taking Shape

It’s been an encouraging off-season thus far for the top rung of The Mazda Road to Indy. After a 2013 season that saw as few as eight cars at many rounds, there are already that many confirmed driver and team entries for the 2014 Indy Lights season Presented by Cooper Tires. Below, we take a look at the confirmed drivers for this season.

2013 Pro Mazda Champion and 2012 USF2000 Champion Matthew Brabham will pilot the #83 Mazda Speed/United Fiber and Data entry for Andretti Autosport. Brabham, of course, was sensational this past season in Pro Mazda scoring 11 wins in 14 starts. Brabham will join Zach Veach at Andretti Autosport. The 19-year old Stockdale, Ohio native will pilot the #12 Replay XD entry in his second Indy Lights campaign with Andretti.

Belardi Auto Racing will field 19-year old Frenchman Alexandre Baron. with 9 races victories in 13 races, Baron won the 2012 French F4 Championship. In 2013, he contested the Laguna Seca and Houston rounds in USF2000, winning the first race at Laguna and the second at Houston. Baron also set a track record for Indy Lights in the recent test at Barber Motorsports Park.

Fan Force United will return to the series this season, with 24-year old Colorado-native Scott Anderson. Anderson, finished 5th in the 2013 Pro Mazda championship, scoring a best finished of second at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park.

Toronto native Zack Meyer, who finished 6th in the 2013 Pro Mazda Series will pilot the #2 Team Moore Racing. Meyer is DAMIS PARTNERS III and Innisfil Indy Karting.

After running part-time in 2013, Bryan Herta Autosport will field the #28 entry full-time in 2014. In conjunction with Jeffrey Mark Motorsport, BHA will field Welsh-born, California-raised Lloyd Read.

Schmidt Peterson Motorsports, who have won four consecutive Indy Lights championships, will field an entry for Bassingham, England native Jack Harvey.

We also expect some other team/driver combinations to be settled soon, and will pass along more information when we receive it.

AutoRacing1 Staff

Leave a Reply