Briton Alex Lynn hits the jackpot in tense Formula 3 Macau GP

Alex Lynn

Alex Lynn won the 2013 running of the Star River-Windsor Arch Formula 3 Macau Grand Prix, leading home Antonio Félix da Costa in a tense encounter. At the 6.12 kilometers long Circuito da Guia, the third-placed of this year’s FIA Formula 3 European Championship finished ahead of Antonio Felix da Costa (Carlin), last year’s winner at Macau, who came second. Luis Felipe Derani (Fortec Motorsports), who also raced in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship this year, finished third.

Barely more than a second covered the pair throughout the second half of the race, Lynn showing nerves of steel to take his first win in Macau at just his second attempt. “I can’t really put it into words," said the Theodore Racing by Prema driver. “I’ve dreamed of winning this race and ever since I left here finishing third [last year]. All I wanted to do is come back here and win and I can’t believe I’ve actually done it."

Carlin driver da Costa, who won the race 12 months ago, started fourth, but quickly found himself in third when Felix Rosenqvist retired on the first lap. He then slipped past Pipo Derani on the run to Lisboa following an early re-start, but was unable to overhaul the leader, despite closing the gap in the second half of the race.

Derani wound up finishing third, but it took a little bit of good fortune. The Fortec driver had just been passed and gapped by Prema Powerteam’s Raffaele Marciello, only for the Italian to crash out of the race at R Bend four laps from the end.

Alex Lynn leads

A pair of Britons were next, Alexander Sims (ThreeBond with T-Sport) leading home Carlin’s Jordan King – who was not only the best-placed rookie at the end of the event, but set the fastest lap of the race with a 2m11.547s. Jazeman Jaafar finished sixth, ahead of Carlin team-mate Carlos Sainz Junior, and Fortec driver Tom Blomqvist. Nicholas Latifi (Carlin) and Esteban Ocon (Prema Powerteam) rounded out the Top 10.

The race featured just one safety car period, sparked when Lucas Auer (Theodore Racing by Prema), John Bryant-Meisner (Fortec) and Sean Gelael (Double R Racing) all hit the wall at the exit of Mandarin.

Tight quarters

Alex Lynn (Theodore Racing by Prema)
“I still can’t find the worlds to describe how nice it is to win here. This is a long-time dream of mine coming true. In 2012, I came third here and I definitely wanted to do better this time. I managed to do so and I am totally happy. Especially the fact that I was able to race in the colors of Theodore Racing, a team with such a long-standing history, in the 60th running of the race, is making me proud. In the first half of the race, I was able to pull a decent gap from the rest of the field, but as Antonio came closer and closer in the final stages, I just said: stand on it…"

Luis Felipe Derani (Fortec Motorsports)
“For me, the race was great fun, but it was also very tough. I was racing with used tires and keeping up with the others was difficult. I am really happy with my podium finish. I definitely wanted to do better than my sixth-place finish from last year."

Alexander Sims (ThreeBond with T-Sport)
“All in all, my race was good. In the first half, we still were having a few technical issues and I thought that we wouldn’t be able to finish the race by any means. Towards the end, I was able to attack once more and my lap times were really good. On one hand, it is really a shame that we didn’t make it onto the podium. On the other hand, I am really happy with my best Macau result to date."

Results – 15 laps:

Pos Driver Team/Car Time/Gap
1. Alex Lynn Prema Dallara-Merc 37m37.975s
2. Antonio Felix da Costa Carlin Dallara-VW +1.173s
3. Pipo Derani Fortec Dallara-Merc +6.795s
4. Alexander Sims T-Sport Dallara-Nissan +8.203s
5. Jordan King Carlin Dallara-VW +9.573s
6. Jazeman Jaafar Carlin Dallara-VW +15.547s
7. Carlos Sainz Jr Carlin Dallara-VW +16.976s
8. Tom Blomqvist Fortec Dallara-Merc +26.160s
9. Nicholas Latifi Carlin Dallara-VW +29.288s
10. Esteban Ocon Prema Dallara-Merc +30.914s
11. Yuhi Sekiguchi Mucke Dallara-Merc +32.854s
12. Yuichi Nakayama TOM'S Dallara-Toyota +33.790s
13. Will Buller Fortec Dallara-Merc +34.265s
14. Harry Tincknell Carlin Dallara-VW +36.532s
15. Katsumasa Chiyo B-Max Dallara-Toyota +36.902s
16. Antonio Giovinazzi Double R Dallara-Merc +37.584s
17. Nelson Mason Zeller Dallara-Merc +39.877s
18. Dennis van de Laar Mucke Dallara-Merc +1m01.651s
19. Ed Jones Fortec Dallara-Merc +1m29.025s
DNF Lucas Wolf URD Dallara-Merc 14 laps
DNF Kevin Korjus Double R Dallara-Merc 13 laps
DNF Raffaele Marciello Prema Dallara-Merc 9 laps
DNF Stefano Coletti Eurointernational Dallara-Merc 7 laps
DNF Sun Zheng Double R Dallara-Merc 6 laps
DNF Lucas Auer Prema Dallara-Merc 0 laps
DNF John Bryant-Meisner Fortec Dallara-Merc 0 laps
DNF Sean Gelael Double R Dallara-Merc 0 laps
DNF Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Dallara-Merc 0 laps

Leave a Reply