Raikkonen excluded from qualifying

Kimi Raikkonen has been excluded from the result of Saturday evening's qualifying session in Abu Dhabi after his Lotus failed a post-session front floor deflection test.

Representatives from the Finn's team were summoned to the stewards after it was uncovered that the left-hand side of his floor deflected "more than 5mm" when the vertical load was applied, a breach of Article 3.17.5 of the sport's technical regulations.

Although the outfit claimed that curb damage caused the floor irregularity, as it had successfully argued with Romain Grosjean after Hungarian Grand Prix qualifying, the stewarding panel did not accept the viewpoint and opted to disqualify Raikkonen.

Raikkonen, who had qualified fifth quickest, will now start from the back of the grid.

Final Grid Lineup

Pos Driver Team/Car
1. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault
2. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault
3. Nico Rosberg Mercedes
4. Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
5. Nico Hulkenberg Sauber-Ferrari
6. Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault
7. Felipe Massa Ferrari
8. Sergio Perez McLaren-Mercedes
9. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari
10. Fernando Alonso Ferrari
11. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes
12. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes
13. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari
14. Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault
15. Valtteri Bottas Williams-Renault
16. Esteban Gutierrez Sauber-Ferrari
17. Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes
18. Giedo van der Garde Caterham-Renault
19. Charles Pic Caterham-Renault
20. Max Chilton Marussia-Cosworth
21. Jules Bianchi Marussia-Cosworth
22. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault

Leave a Reply