Chevy wins NASCAR title again

Jeff Gordon’s win of the Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500 at Martinsville Speedway captured the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers’ Cup Championship for Chevrolet. It marks the 11th consecutive year, and the 37th time overall that the Bowtie Brand has captured the prestigious title in NASCAR’s premiere series. It is also the first Manufacturers’ Cup award for the Gen-6 Chevrolet SS race car.

"Chevrolet is honored to win the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers' Cup Championship for the 11th consecutive year and the 37th time overall," said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President, Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “This championship is the result of teamwork by all the owners, drivers, crew chiefs, crews and technical partners. It is extra special to clinch the championship racing the Chevrolet SS in its first year. Team Chevy is focused on strong finishes over the last three races of the season.

"Special thanks to the Chevrolet powertrain team along with the engine shops at Hendrick Motorsports and Earnhardt-Childress Racing for delivering that right combination of power, fuel economy and reliability all season long," added Campbell.

In the 33 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series races run to-date in 2013, Chevrolet drivers have captured 14 victories. Chevrolet won its first Manufacturers’ Cup award in 1958; and now with the 2013 Cup secured, Chevrolet has reached an unprecedented 37th title.

"Winning Chevrolet's 37th NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers' Cup Championship is a great honor," added Pat Suhy, Chevrolet Racing NASCAR Group Manager. “With the introduction of the all-new Chevrolet SS Sprint Cup car this year, it is even more meaningful; and shows what a great group of engineers and teams we have working together to achieve this level of success. So much effort went into just getting the car ready to race in Daytona and beyond, it was hard to look this far forward to predict we would earn another Manufacturers Cup title in 2013. Our teams’ collective success is driven by a fierce desire to win, coupled with a commitment to do what it takes to get to Victory Lane. Thanks to everyone who has helped secure this prestigious award for Chevrolet."

The Team Chevy drivers that have contributed to the manufacturers’ points that achieved the title for Chevrolet are: Jimmie Johnson (six wins); Kevin Harvick (three wins), Kasey Kahne (two wins), Tony Stewart (one win); Ryan Newman (one win), Jamie McMurray (one win), Jeff Gordon (one win); Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jeff Burton, Juan Pablo Montoya, and Kurt Busch.

"I would like to offer my sincere congratulations to our teams, drivers and technical partners on winning the 2013 NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Manufacturers' Cup Championship for Chevrolet for the 37th time," said Alba Colon, Chevrolet Racing Program Manager, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. “The spirit of cooperation among all of our teams is always extraordinary; but especially this year with the combined effort in the ongoing learning curve for the new Chevy SS race car. I salute all our partners in this special achievement. The level of competition in the Sprint Cup Series is fierce, and we continue to be focused on the challenges at hand. I am proud of everyone who has made this award possible for Chevrolet."

There are seven Team Chevy drivers in the Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup. With three races remaining in the 2013 season, the point standings are as follows: Jimmie Johnson is tied for the lead, Jeff Gordon – third, Kevin Harvick – fourth, Dale Earnhardt Jr. – seventh, Kurt Busch – ninth, Ryan Newman – 12th, and Kasey Kahne – 13th.

Leave a Reply