Marquez smashes record to take fifth pole of the season

Marquez is congratulated by a team member

Repsol Honda's Marc Marquez has shattered Casey Stoner's pole position record in Silverstone by 1.329 seconds with a stunning lap time of 2'00.691 (Stoner, 2'02.020 in 2011). It was a breath-taking qualifying session which saw Marc and title rival Lorenzo swapping fastest laps from the beginning, but it was the young rookie who emerged on top securing his ninth front row start of the season.

Teammate Dani Pedrosa, who struggled in this morning's FP3 session, improved in FP4 where he was second fastest and found a very good race pace. However, a small mistake on his final flying lap in Q2 relegated him from a provisional front row start to 5th with a time of 2'01.624, placing him on the second row for tomorrow's twenty lap race.

Marc Marquez 1st 2'00.691
"I am very happy with pole position and this one carries even more value as we set a new record! The lap times were very fast, we managed an incredible lap and Jorge set the bar very high for us. We put in a better hot lap than I had expected; I hadn't anticipated riding so fast! The race will be tough tomorrow and we will have to remain very focused, because I think that Jorge is the strongest rival that we have here. We will need to get a good start and see if we can stick with him"

Dani Pedrosa 5th 2'01.624
"We improved our pace today and drew some positive conclusions from practice. However, in qualifying things didn't go that well for us. I made a couple of mistakes and was unable to get a better starting position. We will start from fifth, so the important thing for us will be to focus on getting the setup right, putting in the maximum effort to get a good start and have a strong race"


Pos Rider Time Nat Bike Team
1 Marc Marquez 2'00.691 SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
2 Jorge Lorenzo 2'00.819 SPA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
3 Cal Crutchlow 2'01.425 GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
4 Stefan Bradl 2'01.558 GER HONDA LCR Honda MotoGP
5 Dani Pedrosa 2'01.624 SPA HONDA Repsol Honda Team
6 Valentino Rossi 2'02.109 ITA YAMAHA Yamaha Factory Racing
7 Andrea Dovizioso 2'02.123 ITA DUCATI Ducati Team
8 Alvaro Bautista 2'02.252 SPA HONDA Go & Fun Honda Gresini
9 Nicky Hayden 2'02.289 USA DUCATI Ducati Team
10 Bradley Smith 2'02.409 GBR YAMAHA Monster Yamaha Tech 3
11 Colin Edwards 2'04.032 USA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
12 Aleix Espargaro 2'03.464 SPA ART Power Electronics Aspar
13 Randy De Puniet 2'04.114 FRA SUZUKI Suzuki Test Team
14 Hector Barbera 2'04.236 SPA FTR Avintia Blusens
15 Michele Pirro 2'04.680 ITA DUCATI Ignite Pramac Racing Team
16 Andrea Iannone 2'04.692 ITA DUCATI Energy T.I. Pramac Racing Team
17 Yonny Hernandez 2'04.749 COL PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
18 Danilo Petrucci 2'04.798 ITA IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
19 Michael Laverty 2'04.936 GBR PBM Paul Bird Motorsport
20 Claudio Corti 2'05.356 ITA FTR-KAWASAKI NGM Mobile Forward Racing
21 Hiroshi Aoyama 2'05.622 JAP FTR Avintia Blusens
22 Lukas Pesek 2'07.261 CZE IODA-SUTER Came IodaRacing Project
23 Bryan Staring 2'07.300 AUS FTR-HONDA Go & Fun Honda Gresini

Leave a Reply