Daly sets the early pace in Spa-Francorchamps

Conor Daly

Following the four week break, GP3 Series returned to action at the legendary Spa-Francorchamps in Belgium for Round 6 of the 2013 season. The 45 minute session got underway in warm temperatures with glorious blue skies at a circuit notorious for its changeable weather conditions. There is one change to the driver line-up for this weekend with Alexander Sims stepping in at Carlin to replace Eric Lichtenstein this weekend.

The ART Grand Prix duo of Jack Harvey and Facu Regalia led the que of 27 drivers onto the track as the field completed their first laps on scrubbed Pirelli tires. Marussia Manor Racing’s Tio Ellinas was first to clock a time in the 2m08s until Koiranen GP’s Kevin Korjus bettered his time by a mere 0.032s.

Finnish teammate Aaro Vainio broke into the 2m07s barrier and held P1 for a large chunk of the session. As the drivers returned to the pitlane for a new set of rubber, it was Dino Zamparelli who lit up the timing screens in purple and shot to P1, over one second faster than Vainio.

The times tumbled in the final ten minutes with Patric Niederhauser (Jenzer Motorsport) claiming top spot until Series leader Ellinas became the first driver to lap in the 2m05s to reclaim back P1. MW Arden’s Carlos Sainz flew to the top of the timesheets in the dying moments but the session was to belong to American ace Conor Daly who went a tenth faster with seconds remaining.

At the checkered flag the top ten finished as Daly, Sainz, Nick Yelloly (Carlin), Daniil Kvyat (MW Arden), Ellinas, Lewis Williamson (Bamboo Engineering), Sims, Regalia, Melville McKee (Bamboo Engineering) and David Fumanelli (Trident).

Qualifying takes place at 09.45 CET tomorrow morning, who will get the vital four points for pocketing pole and what will the weather bring, wait and see!

Free Practice

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Conor Daly ART Grand Prix 2:05.341 13
2. Carlos Sainz MW Arden 2:05.461 13
3. Nick Yelloly Carlin 2:05.584 16
4. Daniil Kvyat MW Arden 2:05.618 14
5. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 2:05.694 15
6. Lewis Williamson Bamboo Engineering 2:05.764 13
7. Alexander Sims Carlin 2:05.987 15
8. Facu Regalia ART Grand Prix 2:06.044 15
9. Melville McKee Bamboo Engineering 2:06.060 13
10. David Fumanelli Trident 2:06.158 15
11. Alex Fontana Jenzer Motorsport 2:06.167 17
12. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 2:06.206 15
13. Dino Zamparelli Marussia Manor Racing 2:06.490 13
14. Adderly Fong Status Grand Prix 2:06.593 17
15. Jimmy Eriksson Status Grand Prix 2:06.841 16
16. Robert Visoiu MW Arden 2:06.963 13
17. Giovanni Venturini Trident 2:06.982 15
18. Josh Webster Status Grand Prix 2:07.504 16
19. Aaro Vainio Koiranen GP 2:07.639 10
20. Luis Sa Silva Carlin 2:07.848 15
21. Kevin Korjus Koiranen GP 2:07.889 12
22. Samin Gomez Jenzer Motorsport 2:08.540 17
23. Patrick Kujala Koiranen GP 2:09.261 11
24. Emanuele Zonzini Trident 2:09.262 15
25. Jack Harvey ART Grand Prix 2:09.512 9
26. Carmen Jorda Bamboo Engineering 2:09.852 16
27. Ryan Cullen Marussia Manor Racing 2:11.925 14

Leave a Reply