Stefano Coletti leads the way in Spa GP2 practice

Stefano Coletti

GP2 Series leader Stefano Coletti set the quickest lap time of today’s free practice session in Spa-Francorchamps. In the dying minutes, the Monegasque driver edged James Calado out of the top spot with a time of 1:58.386, a shy five hundredths quicker than the Brit. Fabio Leimer completed the top three.

The 2013 GP2 season resumed this morning in Belgium after a four week summer break. The session opened in cool temperatures and on a drying track following morning-long drizzle. The twenty-six drivers fed to the track as the pitlane opened on the Hard compounds. Alexander Rossi was quick to set the early pace, but it was Robin Frijns who was the first driver to break under the 2min barrier. The Dutchman who is back at the wheel of the Hilmer car this weekend improved on Rossi’s lap time by nine tenths. Frijns went even quicker on his following attempt and lapped the 7.004km track in 1:59.126.

At mid-session, Leimer found some extra pace to set a lap time of 1:58.581, half a second quicker than Frijns. Calado was also on a mission and moved up to P2 but he was dropped to third after Stéphane Richelmi improved on the Brit’s lap time. With ten minutes left on the clock, Calado put his head down and claimed the top spot going one tenth quicker than the Swiss, but in the dying minutes Coletti was able to go even quicker and finished the session at the top of the timesheet.

Behind the top three, Tom Dillmann was once again quick and claimed fourth ahead of Frijns, Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, Richelmi, Marcus Ericsson, Julian Lean and last race winner Nathanael Berthon. The forecast expects that it should be dry for today’s qualifying session, but the weather is never predictable in the Ardennes…

Spa-Francorchamps – Free Practice

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Stefano Coletti Rapax 1:58.386 12
2. James Calado ART Grand Prix 1:58.445 10
3. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:58.581 11
4. Tom Dillmann RUSSIAN TIME 1:58.864 11
5. Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport 1:58.903 11
6. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs Hilmer Motorsport 1:58.987 12
7. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 1:59.057 10
8. Marcus Ericsson DAMS 1:59.131 10
9. Julian Leal Racing Engineering 1:59.168 11
10. Nathanael Berthon Trident Racing 1:59.201 12
11. Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:59.405 12
12. Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:59.407 12
13. Sam Bird RUSSIAN TIME 1:59.447 12
14. Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:59.500 13
15. Mitch Evans Arden International 1:59.575 9
16. Johnny Cecotto Arden International 1:59.650 11
17. Dani Clos MP Motorsport 1:59.685 12
18. Vittorio Ghirelli Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:59.748 12
19 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:59.753 10
20. Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport 1:59.891 11
21. Jolyon Palmer Carlin 2:00.162 12
22. Simon Trummer Rapax 2:00.278 11
23. Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix 2:00.290 9
24. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 2:00.375 11
25. Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team 2:00.407 11
26. Ricardo Teixeira Trident Racing 2:01.300 10

Leave a Reply