Fabio Leimer tops wet free practice in Silverstone

The fifth round of the 2013 GP2 Series season opened this morning in cool and wet conditions and saw Fabio Leimer top the session in a lap time of 1:57.996, four tenths ahead of rookie Robin Frijns and local hero James Calado.

The morning rain meant that the track was damp as the pitlane opened for the thirty minute free practice. The constant drizzle did not help the matter and the drivers opted for wet weather tires which they kept until the checkered flag. Calado looked comfortable and in control: he topped the timing sheet on his third attempt, but Frijns found some extra pace to better the Brit’s lap time until Daniel De Jong moved up to P1. As the drivers came to grips with the tricky conditions, Marcus Ericsson went second quickest ahead of the trio of Leimer, Calado and Frijns.

Before the halfway mark, Leimer put his head down and dipped under 2 minutes to settle at the top of the timesheet ahead of Calado and Felipe Nasr who both broke the 2m00 barrier too. With ten minutes left in the session, Frijns improved further to edge Leimer out of the top spot with Marcus Ericsson moving up to third. The track conditions getting slightly better, Leimer put together a lap that saw him light both first sectors in purple and a third sector quick enough to set a lap time of 1:57.996, four tenths ahead of Frijns and Calado. On his final effort, Julian Leal moved up to fourth ahead of De Jong, Stéphane Richelmi, Ericsson, Nasr, Tom Dillmann and Mitch Evans.

The qualifying session will start at 15.55 local time.

Silverstone – Free Practice

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:57.996 9
2. Robin Frijns Hilmer Motorsport 1:58.430 12
3. James Calado ART Grand Prix 1:58.464 12
4. Julian Leal Racing Engineering 1:58.766 11
5. Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport 1:58.835 13
6. Stephane Richelmi DAMS 1:59.233 12
7. Marcus Ericsson DAMS 1:59.290 13
8. Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:59.606 11
9. Tom Dillmann RUSSIAN TIME 1:59.617 11
10. Mitch Evans Arden International 1:59,648 13
11. Jolyon Palmer Carlin 1:59.685 11
12. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport 1:59.775 13
13. Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team 1:59.966 11
14. Sergio Canamasas EQ8 Caterham Racing 1:59.977 11
15. Kevin Ceccon Trident Racing 2:00.021 11
16. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 2:00.133 12
17. Sam Bird RUSSIAN TIME 2:00.236 11
18. Nathanael Berthon Trident Racing 2:00.271 12
19 Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 2:00.352 13
20. Alexander Rossi EQ8 Caterham Racing 2:00.413 12
21. Jon Lancaster Hilmer Motorsport 2:00.431 12
22. Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix 2:00.554 10
23. Simon Trummer Rapax 2:00.780 13
24. Fabrizio Crestani Venezuela GP Lazarus 2:00.831 12
25. Johnny Cecotto Arden International 2:00.971 9
26. Stefano Coletti Rapax 2:01.322 10

Leave a Reply