Stefano Coletti tops GP2 wet Day 1

Stefano Coletti started his three-day test session in the best possible way, topping the timesheets in the afternoon session and on a drying track. James Calado was quickest in a wet morning session.

A short few days following the end of the first GP2 Series pre-season test session in Jerez, the paddock remained in Spain, but relocated to Barcelona for the second and final testing days before the eighth season starts in Malaysia later this month.

The conditions could not have been more miserable as the session opened this morning at Circuit de Catalunya with heavy rain and strong winds sweeping over the track. Simon Trummer was the first driver to test the track conditions, but after thirty minutes of running, only four drivers had set a lap time, Daniel De Jong topping the timesheets.

The proceedings were halted twice in the first hour, first when Rio Haryanto clipped the barrier at turn 2 and then when Kevin Giovesi stopped at turn 8. Halfway through the session, Tom Dillmann went top for newcomers RUSSIAN TIME, but Calado also improved and edged the Frenchman out with a lap time of 1:50.928. De Jong moved up to P2 but remained 1.4s slower than the Brit. With six minutes left on the clock, a final red flag stopped the session when Rodolfo Gonzalez and Ma Qing Hua simultaneously went off track at turns 7 and 12 respectively. Calado, De Jong, Trummer, Fabio Leimer, Julia Leal, Dillmann, Daniel Abt, Felipe Nasr, Robin Frijns, and Rene Binder rounded up the top ten.

The rain eventually bowed out and the afternoon session opened under grey skies. In drying conditions, the lap times dropped significantly and it was finally time for everyone to tap into their stock of hard compounds. Dillmann and teammate Luciano Bacheta were the first ones to venture out on track on slicks and were rewarded with P1 and P2, the Frenchman ahead of the Brit. Frijns also improved and took control of the timesheets, but his best lap time was first bettered by Coletti who was then nudged out by De Jong with a lap time of 1:30.558.

The final hour of the day saw the drivers constantly improving their personal best and in the dying minutes, Frijns was the first man to dip under 1m30s, but Nasr went quickest until Coletti set a lap time of 1:29.868 and claimed the top spot until the checkered flag. Nasr finished a hair’s breadth of the Monegasque driver, closely followed by Frijns – today’s best rookie. Calado, Johnny Cecotto, Leimer, Stéphane Richelmi, De Jong, Jolyon Palmer and Abt rounded up the top ten.

Tomorrow’s session will start at 9am local time where more rain is expected.

Morning results

Pos Driver Team Lap time Laps
1. James Calado ART Grand Prix 1:50.928 20
2. Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport 1:51.858 34
3. Simon Trummer Rapax 1:52.240 27
4. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:52.316 21
5. Julian Leal Racing Engineering 1:52.334 24
6. Tom Dillmann RUSSIAN TIME 1:52.355 15
7. Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix 1:52.416 19
8. Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:52.630 19
9. Robin Frijns Trident Racing 1:52.716 15
10. Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:53.097 28
11. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 1:53.252 25
12. Ma Qing Hua Caterham Racing 1:53.307 37
13. Johnny Cecotto Arden International 1:53.383 17
14. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 1:53.549 20
15. Sergio Canamasas Caterham Racing 1:53.613 30
16. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 1:53.621 33
17. Mitch Evans Arden International 1:53.690 28
18. Marcus Ericsson DAMS 1:53.822 25
19. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport 1:53.957 17
20. Conor Daly Hilmer Motorsport 1:54.099 28
21. Jolyon Palmer Carlin 1:54.641 14
22. Luciano Bacheta RUSSIA TIME 1:54.948 17
23. Pal Varhaug Hilmer Motorsport 1:55.910 20
24. Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team 1:57.604 9
25. Stefano Coletti Rapax 2
26. Kevin Giovesi Venezuela GP Lazarus 1

Afternoon results

Pos Driver Team Lap time Laps
1. Stefano Coletti Rapax 1:29.868 24
2. Felipe Nasr Carlin 1:29.926 18
3. Robin Frijns Trident Racing 1:29.951 19
4. James Calado ART Grand 1:30.239 24
5. Johnny Cecotto Arden International 1:30.323 25
6. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 1:30.335 16
7. Stéphane Richelmi DAMS 1:30.350 22
8. Daniel De Jong MP Motorsport 1:30.487 23
9. Jolyon Palmer Carlin 1:30.505 23
10. Daniel Abt ART Grand Prix 1:30.522 21
11. Kevin Giovesi Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:30.551 16
12. Mitch Evans Arden International 1:30.781 24
13. Simon Trummer Rapax 1:30.831 29
14. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 1:31.027 25
15. Sergio Canamasas Caterham Racing 1:31.032 21
16. Tom Dillmann RUSSIAN TIME 1:31.035 25
17. Adrian Quaife-Hobbs MP Motorsport 1:31.075 24
18. Marcus Ericsson DAMS 1:31.433 22
19. Julian Leal Racing Engineering 1:31.520 28
20. Rio Haryanto Barwa Addax Team 1:31.626 23
21. Conor Daly Hilmer Motorsport 1:32.141 29
22. Rodolfo Gonzalez Trident Racing 1:32.178 23
23. Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 1:32.586 24
24. Luciano Bacheta RUSSIAN TIME 1:32.712 32
25. Ma Qing Hua Caterham Racing 1:33.360 26
26. Pal Varhaug Hilmer Motorsport 1:34.357 17

Leave a Reply