Da Costa wins Qualification Race in Macau

Antonio Felix da Costa

Antonio Felix da Costa has taken a superb win around the streets of Macau during this afternoon’s Qualification Race. Having started from the front row of the grid Da Costa took the lead holding more than a second gap in his Volkswagen powered Dallara Formula Three car over his nearest rival Felix Rosenqvist.

Lining up on the grid on the front row Da Costa had his sights set on pole man Alex Lynn from the moment the lights went out. However it was a fast starting Rosenqvist who led going into the first corner before Da Costa was able to brilliantly snatch the position and pull away in the lead.

DaCosta leads Rosenqvist

At the front Da Costa was pulling away from Rosenqvist and soon had a cushion of one second over his nearest competitor; continuing to pull the gap Da Costa crossed the line to dominantly win the Qualification Race and ensure he starts on pole for tomorrow’s 59th Macau Grand Prix.

Reflecting on his race Da Costa said, ‘I’ve felt really confident this whole weekend, we’ve proven today that we have great pace and we’re able to break the tow to the car behind easily. The plan is going to be the same for tomorrow as today – although you can’t predict anything around here.

‘Today was another strong day for the team who have done an amazing job with not only my car but also the others. It’s been a really good day for me.’


Pos Driver Team/Car Behind
1. Antonio Felix da Costa Carlin Dallara-VW +0.000s
2. Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +1.559s
3. Alex Lynn Fortec Dallara-Mercedes +4.567s
4. Carlos Sainz Jr Carlin Dallara-VW +7.638s
5. Daniel Juncadella Prema Dallara-Mercedes +8.460s
6. Harry Tincknell Fortec Dallara-Mercedes +10.427s
7. Pascal Wehrlein Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +11.452s
8. Hannes van Asseldonk Prema Dallara-Mercedes +12.264s
9. Felipe Nasr Carlin Dallara-VW +13.243s
10. Alexander Sims T-Sport Dallara-Nissan +14.439s
11. Raffaele Marciello Prema Dallara-Mercedes +16.747s
12. Jack Harvey Carlin Dallara-VW +18.291s
13. Pipo Derani Fortec Dallara-Mercedes +21.565s
14. Will Buller Carlin Dallara-VW +22.296s
15. Daniel Abt Carlin Dallara-VW +24.338s
16. Hideki Yamauchi B-Max Dallara-Toyota +24.778s
17. Jimmy Eriksson Double R Dallara-Mercedes +30.092s
18. Tom Blomqvist Euro International Dallara-VW +30.578s
19. Jazeman Jaafar TOM'S Dallara-Toyota +32.945s
20. Mitchell Gilbert Mucke Dallara-Mercedes +34.180s
21. Kevin Korjus Double R Dallara-Mercedes +40.698s
22. Lucas Auer Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW +42.149s
23. Luis Sa Silva Angola Dallara-Mercedes +48.582s
24. Ryo Hirakawa RSS Dallara-Toyota +49.825s
25. Dennis van de Laar Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW +50.579s
26. Lucas Wolf URD Dallara-Mercedes +50.829s
DNF Sven Muller Prema Dallara-Mercedes 8 laps
DNF Andrea Roda Jo Zeller Dallara-Mercedes 8 laps
DNF Felix Serralles Fortec Dallara-Mercedes 6 laps
DNF Yuichi Nakayama TOM'S Dallara-Toyota 3 laps

Leave a Reply