Buescher Crowned 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Champion

James Buescher, driver of the No. 31 Great Clips Chevrolet Silverado, claimed the 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series (NCWTS) championship with a 13th-place finish in the season-ending race at Homestead-Miami Speedway. His title, the first for Buescher and team owner Steve Turner, clinched Chevrolet’s 12th driver’s title since the Series’ 1995 inception.

"On behalf of Chevrolet, congratulations to James Buescher and the No. 31 Chevrolet Silverado crew on winning the 2012 NASCAR Camping World Truck Series championship," said Jim Campbell, U.S. Vice President Performance Vehicles and Motorsports. “James and his team demonstrated determination, perseverance and that never-give-up attitude to win their first championship. Congratulations to Steve Turner and his entire Turner Motorsports organization on this accomplishment."

The 22 year-old driver led the series with four wins, 10 top-five’s and 14 top-10’s in 22 races this season.

Buescher, who carried an 11-point lead into the season finale, is the seventh Chevrolet Silverado driver to win the NCWTS championship, joining Austin Dillon (2011), Ron Hornaday Jr. (2009, 2007, 1998 and 1996), Jack Sprague (2001, 1999, and 1997), Travis Kvapil (2003), Mike Bliss (2002) and Mike Skinner (1995).

In addition to winning the championship, Turner Motorsports has amassed seven NCWTS wins with drivers Buescher, Nelson Piquet, Jr. and Kasey Kahne.

“This caps a very successful season for Chevrolet in the Camping World Truck Series," Campbell said. “We’d also like to congratulate Ty Dillon for winning the Series’ Sunoco Rookie-of-the-Year title."

Chevrolet earlier clinched the NCWTS Manufacturers’ Championship for the eighth time.

Leave a Reply