Filippi blazes to Singapore pole

Luca Filippi

Luca Filippi lit up the Singapore circuit with his run to pole in this evening's qualifying session in Singapore, claiming the top spot in the Series' first ever night run in a red flag shortened session ahead of Max Chilton and Esteban Gutierrez.

The Italian took the top spot with two minutes remaining with a time of 1:59.444, claiming pole by less than a tenth mere seconds before Nigel Melker hit the barriers underneath the main grandstand and brought the session to an early close.

With the track now dry thanks to the warm temperatures and the first F1 practice session, conditions were ideal for a scorching battle under the spotlights: the Lotus pair James Calado and Gutiérrez set the early running, along with Felipe Nasr, but when Series leader Davide Valsecchi took the top spot eight minutes in it looked as though he had taken another step towards the title.

However, with most of his competitors in for fresh tires, Jolyon Palmer had other thoughts and stole provisional pole from the Italian, prompting a rethink up and down the pitlane. As the clock ticked down most of the field were improving, with Chilton, Filippi and Gutiérrez all jumping Valsecchi on the timesheets, and many more looking to move up with them.

Unfortunately for them, Melker's crash came with so little time remaining that no one would have been able to run another lap, and the session was brought to an early end. Behind the top three Palmer, Fabio Leimer, Valsecchi, Johnny Cecotto, Stefano Coletti, Luiz Razia and Sergio Canamasas will instead have to channel that frustration into tomorrow's feature race.

Singapore – Qualifying

Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Luca Filippi Scuderia Coloni 1:59.444 10
2. Max Chilton Carlin 1:59.496 10
3. Esteban Gutierrez Lotus GP 1:59.908 12
4. Jolyon Palmer iSport International 2:00.102 11
5. Fabio Leimer Racing Engineering 2:00.113 9
6. Davide Valsecchi DAMS 2:00.287 10
7. Johnny Cecotto Barwa Addax Team 2:00.335 11
8. Stefano Coletti Rapax 2:00.364 9
9. Luiz Razia Arden International 2:00.365 11
10. Sergio Canamasas Venezuela GP Lazarus 2:00.634 9
11. Stéphane Richelmi Trident Racing 2:00.671 10
12. Nathanael Berthon Racing Engineering 2:00.695 9
13. Felipe Nasr DAMS 2:00.720 11
14. Giedo van der Garde Caterham Racing 2:00.906 10
15. James Calado Lotus GP 2:00.954 10
16. Rio Haryanto Carlin 2:01.031 10
17. Marcus Ericsson iSport International 2:01.204 10
18. Nigel Melker Ocean Racing Technology 2:01.308 10
19 Julian Leal Trident Racing 2:01.474 9
20. Fabio Onidi Scuderia Coloni 2:01.656 6
21. Simon Trummer Arden International 2:01.961 10
22. Victor Guerin Ocean Racing Technology 2:02.110 10
23. Rodolfo Gonzalez Caterham Racing 2:02.260 10
24. Rene Binder Venezuela GP Lazarus 2:02.376 10
25. Jake Rosenzweig Barwa Addax Team 2:03.218 10
26. Ricardo Teixeira Rapax 2:04.174 11

Leave a Reply