Vainio quickest in opening practice in Budapest

Aaro Vainio

Finland’s Aaro Vainio started his weekend in the best possible style by topping the timesheets for practice with a lap time of 1.37.396 which was nearly half a second faster than Antonio Felix Da Costa and Conor Daly.

Following last weekend’s race weekend in Hockenheim, the GP3 Series circus moves swiftly to Budapest in Hungary for Round 6. The Hungaroring area is known for its hot and humid climate and today was no exception with the free practice getting underway in high temperatures of 30 degrees.

Ocean Racing Technology’s Robert Cregan and Carmen Jorda were first out on the circuit which is famous for its twisty turns. In the first ten minutes of the session, Kevin Ceccon was leading the way ahead of Alice Powell. On his first lap, MW Arden’s Mitch Evans shot to P1 after 15 minutes had been completed with teammate Matias Laine and Lotus GP’s Daniel Abt close in pursuit.

Carlin’s Felix Da Costa then went quickest with Vainio jumping to P2. The Lotus GP driver became the first driver to break into the 1:37s barrier and displace the Portuguese driver at the top of the standings by nearly half a second. Status Grand Prix’s Marlon Stockinger was also on the move into P4 to knock down Evans to P5 whilst Vainio further enhanced his position at the top by improving on his best lap.

Vainio finished on top ahead of Felix Da Costa, Daly and Stockinger. William Buller rose to P5 in the final minute of the session, ahead of Evans, Abt, Tio Ellinas, Tamas Pal Kiss and Robert Visoiu. The Romanian driver from Jenzer spun off at the final corner of practice which brought out the yellow flags as many drivers were trying to set purple sectors to move up the field.

Qualifying takes place at 09.45 CET tomorrow morning.


Pos Driver Team Time Laps
1. Aaro Vainio Lotus GP 1:37.396 12
2. Antonio Felix Da Costa Carlin 1:37.819 15
3. Conor Daly Lotus GP 1:37.934 12
4. Marlon Stockinger Status Grand Prix 1:37.973 13
5. William Buller Carlin 1:38.135 15
6. Mitch Evans MW Arden 1:38.171 14
7. Daniel Abt Lotus GP 1:38.235 14
8. Tio Ellinas Marussia Manor Racing 1:38.352 15
9. Tamas Pal Kiss Atech CRS GP 1:38.393 14
10. Robert Visoiu Jenzer Motorsport 1:38.397 14
11. David Fumanelli MW Arden 1:38.516 16
12. Patric Niederhauser Jenzer Motorsport 1:38.517 13
13. Lewis Williamson Status Grand Prix 1:38.673 15
14. Alex Brundle Carlin 1:38.830 14
15. Matias Laine MW Arden 1:38.902 16
16. Alex Fontana Jenzer Motorsport 1:39.208 18
17. Giovanni Venturini Trident Racing 1:39.265 13
18. Kevin Ceccon Ocean Racing Technology 1:39.276 18
19. Facu Regalia Atech CRS GP 1:39.715 14
20. Fabiano Machado Marussia Manor Racing 1:39.986 20
21. Alice Powell Status Grand Prix 1:40.657 19
22. Vicky Piria Trident Racing 1:41.463 8
23. Robert Cregan Ocean Racing Technology 1:41.785 19
24. Dmitry Suranovich Marussia Manor Racing 1:41.787 20
25. Ethan Ringel Atech CRS GP 1:41.981 19
26. Carmen Jorda Ocean Racing Technology 1:42.825 19

Leave a Reply