Bianchi claims Moscow Formula Renault 3.5 race two pole

Jules Bianchi

The second Formula Renault 3.5 Series qualifying session, again run in brilliant sunshine, kicked off day two on the Moscow Raceway.

The drivers started the session on used rubber and Marco Sorensen and Nico Müller were the first to set target times. They were soon joined by Jules Bianchi and Robin Frijns. Just before everybody pitted to put on new tires Sorensen led the dance in 1m 24.666s followed by Bianchi, Müller, Frijns and Sam Bird.

Sorensen was the first to improve with a lap in 1m 23.803s. However, the quickest times were set right at the end of the session with Bianchi topping the time sheets in 1m 23.388s. It was the young Frenchman’s second pole of the season and in second and third places came Sorensen and Arthur Pic. Twelve drivers were covered by one second this morning.

Jules Bianchi: “It was another hotly-disputed session and until the very last lap I didn’t know exactly where I stood. I put in two quick laps in succession. My car was working really well; now I’ll have to concentrate on the race."

Marco Sorensen: “The car was more comfortable to driver on worn tires than on fresh rubber, so I reckon we’ve got a good package for the race. I didn’t manage to bang in a good lap when the new tires were at their best and that’s why I missed pole."

Arthur Pic: “The track was dirty at the start of the session, and I got caught out. I had a clear lap at the end which wasn’t perfect as I could have done a bit better. My aim’s a podium as I’ve finished fourth in the last two races."



Driver Team Time Behind
1. Jules Bianchi Tech 1 1m23.388s +0.000s
2. Marco Sorensen Lotus 1m23.485s +0.097s
3. Arthur Pic DAMS 1m23.563s +0.175s
4. Sam Bird ISR 1m23.677s +0.289s
5. Cesar Ramos Lotus 1m23.844s +0.456s
6. Robin Frijns Fortec 1m23.924s +0.536s
7. Nico Muller Draco 1m24.033s +0.645s
8. Kevin Korjus Tech 1 1m24.132s +0.744s
9. Nick Yelloly Comtec 1m24.321s +0.933s
10. Walter Grubmuller P1 1m24.349s +0.961s
11. Lucas Foresti DAMS 1m24.353s +0.965s
12. Alexander Rossi Arden Caterham 1m24.478s +1.090s
13. Mikhail Aleshin RFR 1m24.522s +1.134s
14. Kevin Magnussen Carlin 1m24.578s +1.190s
15. Andre Negrao Draco 1m24.586s +1.198s
16. Carlos Huertas Fortec 1m24.628s +1.240s
17. Daniil Move P1 1m24.743s +1.355s
18. Vittorio Ghirelli Comtec 1m24.863s +1.475s
19. Zoel Amberg Pons 1m24.894s +1.506s
20. Anton Nebylitskiy RFR 1m24.939s +1.551s
21. Antonio Felix da Costa Arden Caterham 1m24.997s +1.609s
22. Jake Rosenzweig ISR 1m25.090s +1.702s
23. Will Stevens Carlin 1m25.421s +2.033s
24. Sergey Sirotkin BVM Target 1m25.514s +2.126s
25. Yann Cunha Pons 1m25.617s +2.229s
26. Nikolay Martsenko BVM Target 1m25.680s +2.292s

Leave a Reply