Monaco GP: Alonso tops practice 1

Massa along the waterfront

Fernando Alonso topped the first practice for the Monaco Grand Prix in his Ferrari. Alonso set the pace in a shortened first practice session after a spectacular engine blow-out for Heikki Kovalainen in the tunnel ended the session early.

With nine minutes to go, the session as red flagged as Heikki Kovalainen's Caterham engine blew in the tunnel. And with so much smoke – there was a lot! – the session had to be stopped no one could see anything.

Alonso ended the opening 90-minute session more than 0.3s faster than the Lotus of Romain Grosjean.

Sauber driver Sergio Perez was an impressive third fastest for Sauber ahead of McLaren's Lewis Hamilton.

Spanish Grand Prix winner Pastor Maldonado was fifth for Williams and Felipe Massa sixth in the second Ferrari.

Kimi Raikkonen completed just a single installation lap before deciding the Monaco-specific steering wasn't to his liking and decided to have it changed, wiping out the rest of his session.



Driver Team Time Behind Laps
1. Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1m16.265s +0.000s 22
2. Romain Grosjean Lotus-Renault 1m16.630s +0.365s 17
3. Sergio Perez Sauber-Ferrari 1m16.711s +0.446s 19
4. Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1m16.747s +0.482s 12
5. Pastor Maldonado Williams-Renault 1m16.760s +0.495s 20
6. Felipe Massa Ferrari 1m16.843s +0.578s 19
7. Kamui Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1m17.038s +0.773s 21
8. Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1m17.190s +0.925s 13
9. Sebastian Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1m17.222s +0.957s 14
10. Nico Rosberg Mercedes 1m17.261s +0.996s 18
11. Michael Schumacher Mercedes 1m17.413s +1.148s 14
12. Nico Hulkenberg Force India-Mercedes 1m17.631s +1.366s 18
13. Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault 1m18.106s +1.841s 14
14. Jean-Eric Vergne Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m18.209s +1.944s 25
15. Daniel Ricciardo Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1m18.252s +1.987s 28
16. Paul di Resta Force India-Mercedes 1m18.302s +2.037s 16
17. Bruno Senna Williams-Renault 1m18.617s +2.352s 20
18. Heikki Kovalainen Caterham-Renault 1m19.03$s +2.774s 20
19. Vitaly Petrov Caterham-Renault 1m19.341s +3.076s 16
20. Narain Karthikeyan HRT-Cosworth 1m20.838s +4.573s 26
21. Charles Pic Marussia-Cosworth 1m20.895s +4.630s 18
22. Timo Glock Marussia-Cosworth 1m21.638s +5.373s 9
23. Pedro de la Rosa HRT-Cosworth 1m22.423s +6.158s 15
24. Kimi Raikkonen Lotus-Renault 1

Leave a Reply