Spengler claims first DTM season win for  BMW at Lausitz

Spengler hugs his winning BMW

BMW didn’t have to wait long for its maiden win after the brand’s return to the DTM: Having started from pole position, Canadian Bruno Spengler won the 52 laps long second round of the 2012 DTM season at Lausitzring with his BMW M3 DTM. Gary Paffett (Mercedes AMG C-Coupé) claimed second place behind Spengler.

Top-3 celebrate

At the finish line, Paffett was 1.019 seconds down on the race winner. With Augusto Farfus in third place, another BMW driver rounded out the podium. Behind fourth-placed Jamie Green (Mercedes-Benz), Mattias Ekström crossed the finish line as the best-placed Audi driver in fifth. Timo Scheider (Audi), Martin Tomczyk (BMW), Edoardo Mortara (Audi), Filipe Albuquerque (Audi) and Ralf Schumacher (Mercedes-Benz) also scored points in sixth to tenth place.

After two rounds, Gary Paffett is leading the drivers’ standings with 43 points.

Results – 52 laps:


Driver Team/Car Behind
1. Bruno Spengler (CDN) Schnitzer BMW +0.000s
2. Gary Paffett (GB) HWA Mercedes +1.019s
3. Augusto Farfus (BR) RBM BMW +7.069s
4. Jamie Green (GB) HWA Mercedes +7.676s
5. Mattias Ekstrom (S) Abt Audi +21.362s
6. Timo Scheider (D) Abt Audi +22.607s
7. Martin Tomczyk (D) RMG BMW +25.446s
8. Edoardo Mortara (I) Rosberg Audi +32.202s
9. Filipe Albuquerque (P) Rosberg Audi +32.658s
10. Ralf Schumacher (D) HWA Mercedes +35.513s
11. Christian Vietoris (D) HWA Mercedes +45.699s
12. David Coulthard (GB) Mucke Mercedes +46.355s
13. Mike Rockenfeller (D) Phoenix Audi +47.667s
14. Joey Hand (USA) RMG BMW +48.034s
15. Miguel Molina (E) Phoenix Audi +48.836s
16. Roberto Merhi (E) Persson Mercedes +56.454s
17. Andy Priaulx (GB) RBM BMW +58.984s
18. Adrien Tambay (F) Abt Audi +1m04.646s
19. Dirk Werner (D) Schnitzer BMW +1m05.201s
20. Rahel Frey (CH) Abt Audi +1m08.570s
21. Susie Wolff (GB) Mucke Mercedes +1 lap
DNF Robert Wickens (CDN) Persson Mercedes 47 laps

Leave a Reply