Watkins Glen names new grandstands

Five names that were a big part of the history of Watkins Glen International – Argetsinger, Stewart, Riesbeck, Seneca, and Bodine – will adorn five new grandstands at the storied road-racing facility.

The late Cameron Argetsinger helped organize the first race at The Glen and designed both the original 6.6-mile street layout in 1948 and the original 2.3-mile permanent course.

The other grandstands are named for: former Formula One star Jackie Stewart, a two-time winner of the U.S. Grand Prix; Jim Riesbeck, who spearheaded Corning, Inc.'s decision to revive the track in the early 1980s after the departure of the F1 race; and NASCAR drivers Geoff, Brett and Todd Bodine, who grew up in nearby Chemung, N.Y.

Leave a Reply