IndyCar/Champ Car drivers dominated Rolex 24

Go ahead. Ask Justin Wilson for the time. Wilson arrived at Sebring International Raceway about 24 hours after co-driving the winning Michael Shank Racing with Curb/Agajanian entry in the 50th anniversary Rolex 24 At Daytona. He teamed with AJ Allmendinger, Oswaldo Negri Jr. and John Pew.

Of course, Wilson was sporting the winner's watch from the title sponsor (though he'll have to withdraw a few links in the band for it to fit properly). Wilson took in the completed Honda-powered No. 19 Dale Coyne Racing car, which he'll be shaking down Jan. 31 on the Sebring short course, for the first time.

Wilson, twice at runner-up in the endurance race on the 23.56-mile, 12-turn Daytona International Speedway course, earned the victory in his fifth attempt. It was the first for Shank, who will enter a car in the 2012 IZOD IndyCar Series season.

“It’s a fantastic feeling to finally do it," said Wilson, whose final stint in the early morning last more than 3½ hours. “It was flat out. We gave it everything on every lap and took every opportunity."

Six teams with current or former INDYCAR/Champ Car drivers finished in the top 10 of the race, including Wilson's teammate AJ Allmendinger who drives in NASCAR now but learned to be a great driver from open wheel racing. Did you know that NASCAR star Tony Stewart was an IndyCar star before moving to NASCAR?

Leave a Reply