F2: Mirko Bortolotti secures pole for race two

Mirko Bortolotti will start today's (Sunday) second FIA Formula Two race at Brands Hatch on pole position after an impressive performance during a closely fought qualifying session.

The Italian was the first of the major front-runners to use his overboost and set a quick time 10 minutes into the session which blitzed the rest of the field by 0.7 seconds. He followed that up with his next lap, going 1.4 seconds clear of the next quickest man with a time that was to go unbeaten.

As the session entered the final 10 minutes, the times began to fall with Max Snegirev moving into second albeit 1.3 seconds off Bortolotti's time.

It was Pineiro though who was Bortolotti's closest challenger, and he lapped just 0.109s off the 21-year-old to take second, while yesterday's winner Jack Clarke continued his good form, qualifying third just two-tenths off pole. He will no doubt be hoping to get as good a start as yesterday on the run down to Paddock Hill Bend.

Miki Monras will start fourth, but Tobias Hegewald, who was on pole yesterday will be disappointed with fifth on the grid. Alex Brundle qualified sixth, with Mihai Marinescu seventh. Armaan Ebrahim again impressed to secure eighth while championship contender Christopher Zanella could only manage ninth just ahead of Benjamin Lariche who rounded out the top 10.

Speaking afterwards Bortolotti said: "I'm pleased with that session as I didn't crash! The car felt ok and it went well for us. We knew we had good pace so it was a matter of putting it all together. I'd like to thank my guys for repairing the car after yesterday and for a fine job, and I'm looking forward to the race."

Join us at 14:35 (local time) for the start of race two with full coverage, including live streaming, on the official F2 website.

Brands Hatch, qualifying two, Top-10 results:

1. Mirko Bortolotti, 1:15.730s
2. Ramon Pineiro, +0.109s
3. Jack Clarke, +0.200s
4. Miki Monras, +0.424s
5. Tobias Hegewald, +0.495s
6. Alex Brundle, +0.777s
7. Mihai Marinescu, +0.863s
8. Armaan Ebrahim, +0.894s
9. Christopher Zanella, +0.926s
10. Benjamin Lariche, +1.068s

Leave a Reply