Record 30-car field for Texas IndyCar races

A track-record 30 entries will compete in the Firestone Twin 275s at Texas Motor Speedway Saturday night, eclipsing the previous high car-count of 28.

The last time an IZOD IndyCar Series race outside the Indianapolis 500 featured more than 30 cars occurred during the season-finale at Las Vegas Motor Speedway on Oct. 11, 1997. The first of two 114-lap races around TMS’ 1.5-mile quadoval is scheduled for 8:45 p.m. (EDT). The grid for the first race will be set by traditional qualifying on Friday, with the starting lineup for the second race determined by a blind draw during a one-hour intermission following the first race.

“IndyCar Series races at Texas Motor Speedway have never disappointed, and with a record 30 cars on the track the excitement of the Firestone Twin 275s will reach a whole new level," said Eddie Gossage, TMS president. “Texas Motor Speedway hosting the first twin races in IndyCar Series history makes it big and this only enhances the significance."

The 21 previous IndyCar Series events held at TMS have featured 28-car fields on four occasions, most recently the 2008 Bombardier Learjet 550k won by Scott Dixon of Target Chip Ganassi Racing. The other races with 28 entries were the 2002 Chevy 500k (Sam Hornish Jr./Panther Racing); the 1998

Ryan Briscoe is headed down Texas way this weekend where he is the defending race winner.
Lone Star 500k (John Paul Jr./Jonathan Byrd Racing) and ‘98 True Value 500k (Billy Boat/A.J. Foyt

The 30 drivers scheduled to compete in the Firestone Twin 275s hail from 12 countries: United States (8), England (5), Brazil (4), Canada (3), Australia (2), New Zealand (2) and Japan, Spain, Scotland, Colombia, Switzerland and Venezuela (1 each).

Ryan Briscoe of Team Penske is defending champion of an event that saw Andretti Autosport teammates Danica Patrick and Marco Andretti round out the podium. Briscoe qualified on-pole last June at 215.273 mph en route to leading a race-high 102 laps and a margin of victory of 1.4629-seconds over Patrick. In his first appearance since winning the 2010 Indy 500, Dario Franchitti of TCGR lead 86 laps while eventually placing fifth.

Saturday’s live High Definition telecast will begin at 8 p.m. (EDT) on VERSUS. The race also will air live on the IMS Radio Network, SiriusXM Channel 94 and Tickets remain available with the best deal – 2 for $49 – concluding at the close of business Thursday. To purchase tickets contact the Texas Motor Speedway ticket office at (817) 215-8500, or visit Racin' Today

Leave a Reply