Rossi Wins at Home

It took Valentino Rossi just one week to bounce back from his Indianapolis disappointment with brilliant win at Misano on Sunday.

Misano 2009 - MotoGP Race Highlights

World Champion Valentino Rossi delighted the home crowd at Misano on Sunday with his second successive victory at the Italian circuit, to reassert his authority in the MotoGP title race.

A 2.4s win at the Gran Premio Cinzano di San Marino e della Riviera di Rimini over his team-mate Jorge Lorenzo was the perfect response to his Indy DNF and Rossi now leads the Spaniard by 30 points in the standings, with four rounds to go.

Lorenzo did his very best to stay with his illustrious team-mate over the course of the 28 lap contest, having overtaken Dani Pedrosa after a short battle, but The Doctor was unstoppable in the Italian sunshine.

Having held the lead in the early stages Repsol Honda’s Pedrosa could not match the pace of the powerful Fiat Yamaha pair, eventually crossing the line ten seconds behind Lorenzo to complete the podium.

Early in the race there was drama – and heartbreak – when Alex de Angelis (San Carlo Honda Gresini) appeared to misjudge the first corner and crashed out, with American pair Colin Edwards (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Nicky Hayden (Ducati Marlboro) unfortunately sliding out with him.

Andrea Dovizioso (Repsol Honda) and Loris Capirossi (Rizla Suzuki) had a fierce fight behind the rostrum finishers, with Dovizioso eventually coming out on top by two-tenths of a second for his third fourth place finish in a row.

The top ten was rounded off by early race leader Toni Elías (San Carlo Honda Gresini), Mika Kallio (Ducati Marlboro), Marco Melandri (Hayate Racing), Chris Vermeulen (Rizla Suzuki) and James Toseland (Monster Yamaha Tech 3), whilst temporary Pramac Racing representative Aleix Espargar¢ did very well in eleventh place in just his second MotoGP race.



Rider Nation Team Time
1 V. ROSSI ITA Fiat Yamaha Team 44'32.882
2 J. LORENZO SPA Fiat Yamaha Team + 2.416
3 D. PEDROSA SPA Repsol Honda Team + 12.400
4 A. DOVIZIOSO ITA Repsol Honda Team + 26.330
5 L. CAPIROSSI ITA Rizla Suzuki MotoGP + 26.539
6 T. ELIAS SPA San Carlo Honda Gresini + 28.286
7 M. KALLIO FIN Ducati Marlboro Team + 30.184
8 M. MELANDRI ITA Hayate Racing Team + 31.757
9 C. VERMEULEN AUS Rizla Suzuki MotoGP + 31.909
10 J. TOSELAND GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 + 38.347
11 A. ESPARGARO SPA Pramac Racing + 46.673
12 R. DE PUNIET FRA LCR Honda MotoGP + 52.041
13 N. CANEPA ITA Pramac Racing + 1'03.198
14 G. TALMACSI HUN Scot Racing Team MotoGP + 1'22.347
15 A. DE ANGELIS RSM San Carlo Honda Gresini DNF Lap 1
16 C. EDWARDS USA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 DNF Lap 1
17 N. HAYDEN USA Ducati Marlboro Team DNF Lap 1

Leave a Reply