Di Grassi fastest in Hungary practice

Lucas di Grassi has arrived in top form in Hungary this weekend setting the quickest lap time in this morning’s Free Practice at the Hungaroring in a 1:28.261. He is four tenths clear from Vitaly Petrov and Javier Villa.

In the heat of Budapest with the track temperature rising to 41°C, the Super Nova Spaniard was the fastest man in the early laps of the session but he was soon to be denied the top spot when di Grassi set the pace just before the ten minute mark. His lap time was never bettered although Pastor Maldonado seemed to be on his way to be quicker. However, as the Venezuelan set the fastest sectors 1 and 2, he lost the rear of his car in turn 13 prompting a yellow flag.

When the track was clear and with twenty minutes left on the clock all drivers set their goal to claim the top spot, starting with Petrov. But the Russian’s attempts could not bring him closer than four tenths to the Brazilian.

The last ten minutes of the session were marked by multiple yellow flags – a streak started with Karun Chandhok: the Indian spun and went off track at turn 12. He was soon imitated by his teammate Alvaro Parente in the first sector. The two Ocean Racing drivers were not the only unlucky ones: as the clock ran out both Luiz Razia and Petrov went off track and stopped respectively at turn 13 and 8, the Russian even damaging the nose of his car as he crashed into the barrier.

Villa could never improve his first quickest lap and eventually finished P3 ahead of Romain Grosjean, Parente, Maldonado, Davide Valsecchi, Luca Filippi and Edoardo Mortara. Series leader Nico Hülkenberg completed the Top 10. With the temperatures expected to be high this afternoon, the fight for pole position will most certainly be hot.



Driver Team Time Behind Gap
1. Lucas di Grassi Racing Engineering +0.000 1m28.261s
2. Vitaly Petrov Addax 1m28.683s +0.422s
3. Javier Villa Super Nova 1m28.941s +0.680s
4. Romain Grosjean Addax 1m28.947s +0.686s
5. Alvaro Parente Ocean 1m28.977s +0.716s
6. Pastor Maldonado ART 1m29.156s +0.895s
7. Davide Valsecchi Durango 1m29.248s +0.987s
8. Luca Filippi Super Nova 1m29.323s +1.062s
9. Edoardo Mortara Arden 1m29.367s +1.106s
10. Nico Hulkenberg ART 1m29.460s +1.199s
11. Andreas Zuber Fisichella 1m29.658s +1.397s
12. Sergio Perez Arden 1m29.746s +1.485s
13. Dani Clos Racing Engineering 1m29.766s +1.505s
14. Davide Rigon Trident 1m29.860s +1.599s
15. Franck Perera DPR 1m29.884s +1.623s
16. Michael Herck DPR 1m30.001s +1.740s
17. Alberto Valerio Piquet 1m30.035s +1.774s
18. Kamui Kobayashi DAMS 1m30.043s +1.782s
19. Jerome D'Ambrosio DAMS 1m30.061s +1.800s
20. Luiz Razia Fisichella 1m30.097s +1.836s
21. Nelson Panciatici Durango 1m30.169s +1.908s
22. Karun Chandhok Ocean 1m30.200s +1.939s
23. Roldan Rodriguez Piquet 1m30.200s +1.939s
24. Giedo van der Garde iSport 1m30.276s +2.015s
25. Diego Nunes iSport 1m30.377s +2.116s
26. Ricardo Teixeira Trident 1m31.507s +3.246s

Leave a Reply