Mayfield loses crew chief

Carter/Simo Racing officials said Tony Furr has joined the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series team as crew chief for driver Terry Labonte. The team announced last week that Labonte and Boris Said will share the team’s No. 08 entry, beginning with next weekend’s Allstate 400 at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. When Labonte drives the No. 08, it will be a Toyota, with Furr as crew chief. When Said drives, it will be a Ford with Frank Stoddard as crew chief. Furr joins Carter/Simo after a stint as crew chief for Mayfield Motorsports and driver Jeremy Mayfield earlier this year.

Leave a Reply