Stewart’s Team Claims Tissot Pit Crew Award in Daytona

Tony Stewart’s crew won the Tissot Pit Road Precision Award in Saturday night’s (July 4) NASCAR Sprint Cup race at Daytona International Speedway.

The fast pit stops by the No. 14 crew helped Stewart win the 160-lap, 400-mile race. Stewart’s Chevy Impala SS spent the least amount of time on pit road – 238.890 seconds.

"The guys on this Burger King/Old Spice/Office Depot/U.S. Army Chevrolet team did an awesome job," said Stewart. “They had great stops all night long. They were just consistent."

The No. 14 over-the-wall crew consists of: Jeff "Gooch" Patterson (gasman), Scott Radel (catch can), Rick Pigeon (jackman), Kelly Kellis (front tire changer), Todd Drakulich (front tire carrier), Daniel Smith (rear tire changer) and Mike “Shrek" Morneau (rear tire carrier). The team's crew chief is Darian Grubb and the pit crew coach is Joe Piette Jr.

At the halfway point of the season (18 races completed), the crews for Jeff Gordon and Greg Biffle lead in the Tissot standings with three wins each. Stewart’s and Jimmie Johnson’s crews are tied for third with two wins each.

The No. 14 team will collect $5,000 for the pit road win. The team with the most Tissot Pit Road Precision Award wins at the completion of the 36-race Sprint Cup schedule will receive a $100,000 bonus plus Tissot watches for the crew and driver.

Tissot has been the official watch and timekeeper of NASCAR since 2006. The company is also the official timekeeper for a number of other sports, including the MotoGP World Championship, the Ice Hockey World Championship and the Cycling World Championship.

Leave a Reply