Lorenzo smashes Jerez lap record

Home hero Jorge Lorenzo continued his impressive rookie assault on the MotoGP class with an outstanding pole position in Jerez today, smashing the existing pole record by almost a second aboard his Fiat Yamaha M1 in front of thousands of Spanish fans. The youngest rider on the grid produced a masterful qualifying display to take his second consecutive pole position and his 3rd at this circuit.

After topping the time sheets yesterday, Lorenzo continued gradually refining his set-up throughout this morning's free practice and the early part of the afternoon session, before setting the fastest lap so far on the first of three Michelin qualifying tires with 20 minutes remaining.

He bettered himself once again soon after before an inch-perfect final lap on his third soft tire saw him improve another half a second to consolidate pole position. Dani Pedrosa was over half a second slower in second place whilst third spot was filled by Yamaha Tech 3 rider Colin Edwards for the second race running. Lorenzo's team-mate Valentino Rossi had looked on course to join him on the front row before an electronic problem caused him to abandon his final hot lap, and he will start from fifth for tomorrow's 27-lap race.

Repsol Honda riders Dani Pedrosa and Nicky Hayden delivered impressive qualifying performances today, Pedrosa going second quickest, Hayden just a fraction of a second behind his team-mate in fourth. That session backed up similarly strong showings during free practice.

Urged on by the vast and boisterous Jerez crowd, Pedrosa kept trying to the very end, completing qualifying just behind fellow Spaniard Jorge Lorenzo.



Rider Bike Tire Time Gap
1. Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha (M) 1:38.189 0.000
2. Daniel Pedrosa Honda (M) 1:38.789 Ã- 0.600
3. Colin Edwards Yamaha (M) 1:38.954 Ã- 0.765
4. Nicky Hayden Honda (M) 1:39.061 Ã- 0.872
5. Valentino Rossi Yamaha (B) 1:39.064 Ã- 0.875
6. Randy de Puniet Honda (M) 1:39.122 Ã- 0.933
7. Casey Stoner Ducati (B) 1:39.286 Ã- 1.097
8. James Toseland Yamaha (M) 1:39.334 Ã- 1.145
9. John Hopkins Kawasaki (B) 1:39.439 Ã- 1.250
10. Loris Capirossi Suzuki (B) 1:39.484 Ã- 1.295
11. Shinya Nakano Honda (B) 1:39.559 Ã- 1.370
12. Chris Vermeulen Suzuki (B) 1:39.704 Ã- 1.515
13. Andrea Dovizioso Honda (M) 1:39.767 Ã- 1.578
14. Alex de Angelis Honda (B) 1:40.037 Ã- 1.848
15. Anthony West Kawasaki (B) 1:40.088 Ã- 1.899
16. Toni Elias Ducati (B) 1:40.286 Ã- 2.097
17. Sylvain Guintoli Ducati (B) 1:40.939 Ã- 2.750
18. Marco Melandri Ducati (B) 1:41.027 Ã- 2.838

Leave a Reply