Malaysia GP: Practice 1 Results – Massa

Felipe Massa

Ferrari started the practice for the Malaysian Grand Prix on top Friday morning session at Sepang with Felipe Massa and Kimi Raikkonen 1-2 in their Ferraris. Felipe Massa was fastest with a best lap of 1m35.392s, more than a second ahead of Raikkonen's best. Heikki Kovalainen's McLaren was third, just ahead of Nico Rosberg's Williams and Lewis Hamilton's McLaren, while the two Renaults were a further four-tenths behind with Fernando Alonso just faster than Nelson Piquet.

Robert Kubica was eighth fastest, ahead of Jenson Button and Jarno Trulli.

It was a session with much drama as David Coulthard's Red Bull broke its suspension over a curb and Mark Webber's similar car caught fire. There were a number of spins and offs – Kazuki Nakajima, Sebastian Vettel and Nick Heidfeld. Adrian Sutil also stopped on the circuit in his Force India.

1. Felipe Massa Brazil Ferrari 1:35.392
2. Kimi Raikkonen Finland Ferrari 1:36.459
3. Heikki Kovalainen Finland McLaren-Mercedes 1:36.556
4. Nico Rosberg Germany Williams-Toyota 1:36.578
5. Lewis Hamilton Britain McLaren-Mercedes 1:36.626
6. Fernando Alonso Spain Renault 1:37.022
7. Nelson Piquet Brazil Renault 1:37.034
8. Robert Kubica Poland BMW Sauber 1:37.218
9. Jenson Button Britain Honda 1:37.282
10. Jarno Trulli Italy Toyota 1:37.540
11. Nick Heidfeld Germany BMW Sauber 1:37.649
12. Kazuki Nakajima Japan Williams-Toyota 1:37.649
13. Rubens Barrichello Brazil Honda 1:37.776
14. Timo Glock Germany Toyota 1:37.782
15. Sebastian Vettel Germany Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:38.219
16. David Coulthard Britain Red Bull-Renault 1:38.232
17. Mark Webber Australia Red Bull-Renault 1:38.707
18. Sebastien Bourdais France Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:38.798
19. Giancarlo Fisichella Italy Force India-Ferrari 1:39.046
20. Takuma Sato Japan Super Aguri-Honda 1:40.178
21. Anthony Davidson Super Super Aguri-Honda 1:40.351
22. Adrian Sutil Germany Force India-Ferrari 1:41.269

Leave a Reply