Indianapolis 500 opening sequence nominated for Emmy Award

The opening sequence for ABC Sports' broadcast of the 2007 Indianapolis 500 was nominated for a Sports Emmy® Award by the National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences on March 13 in New York.

Actor Jeremy Irons narrated the opening that led into ABC's live coverage of the 91st edition of "The Greatest Spectacle in Racing" at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway, won by Dario Franchitti. The opening, called "All Roads Lead to Indy," focused on the international background of many of the 33 drivers participating in the 2007 race.

Winners will be announced at the 29th annual Sports Emmy Awards on Monday, April 28 at Frederick P. Rose Hall, Home of Jazz at Lincoln Center in New York.

The Indianapolis 500 opening sequence was in elite company among the seven nominees in the Outstanding Open/Tease category. The other nominees are Super Bowl XLI, the 107th U.S. Open golf championship, "Barbaro: A Nation's Horse," "De La Hoya/Mayweather 24/7," the NBA Playoffs and the 2007 Scripps National Spelling Bee.

ABC Sports' opening sequence for the 2006 Indianapolis 500 shared the Sports Emmy Award in 2007 in the Outstanding Open/Tease category. ABC Sports' "Speed City Tease" for the 2005 Indianapolis 500 won a Sports Emmy in 2006 in the Outstanding Post Produced Audio/Sound category.

Leave a Reply