Bourdais and Rahal Receive Accolades for 2007 Season

Sebastien Bourdais and Graham Rahal have received accolades for their success during the 2007 Champ Car World Series season while driving for Newman/Haas/Lanigan Racing.

Bourdais piloted the No. 1 McDonald’s entry to eight wins and seven poles en route to an unprecedented, history-making fourth consecutive title while Rahal drove the No. 2 Medi | Zone entry to four podium finishes including a second place in Houston that earned him the distinction of becoming the youngest podium finisher in series history at 18 years old.

Bourdais earned a spot on the 2007 American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association (AARWBA) All America team for the fourth consecutive year. Two team members are elected in each of the seven categories with the driver earning the most votes being eligible to win the Jerry Titus Memorial Trophy and be named AARWBA’s Driver of the Year at the annual banquet in January. In addition to Bourdais, other Titus contenders include two-time NASCAR Nextel Cup Champion Jimmie Johnson, reigning IndyCar Series and Indianapolis 500 champion Dario Franchitti, five-time NHRA champion Tony Schumacher and three-time NASCAR Craftsman Truck Series champion Ron Hornaday Jr.

In addition Bourdais is again a nominee for the second annual Speed Performer of the Year award given by a panel of journalists and organized by SPEED Channel. Other nominees include Jimmie Johnson, Dario Franchitti and Formula One champion Kimi Raikkonen among others. Bourdais is also a nominee for the 2007 SPEED Performance Awards. Winners of both categories will be announced during a one-hour special telecast to be aired next February. SPEED TV is allowing its viewers the opportunity to vote for nine separate categories, some of which include Bourdais. Prospective voters can go to and click on the SPEED Performance Awards icon.

Bourdais was also nominated for the “Economaki Champion of Champions" award in honor of longtime racing journalist Chris Economaki, editor of National Speed Sport News. It is the second year of the award and second time Bourdais was a contender. Two-time World of Outlaws Sprint Car champion Donny Schatz won the award.

Graham Rahal was nominated for Autosport Magazine Rookie of the Year by the esteemed auto racing magazine based in the United Kingdom. Although the fan vote earned Formula One and British driver Lewis Hamilton the title, Rahal was pleased to be nominated.

Leave a Reply