Kanaan team take first, second in Granja Viana kart race

2004 IndyCar Series champion Tony Kanaan teamed with longtime friend Rubens Barrichello to win the 11th Granja Viana 500 on Dec. 2.

Kanaan and Barrichello teamed with Felipe Giaffone, Lucas di Grassi and Renato Russo to claim their seventh victory, just ahead of their second kart, shared with Di Grassi, Antonio Pizzonia and Thiago Camilo. The team of Luciano Burti, Dennis Dirani, Gabriel Dias and Felipe Guimarães completed the podium.

IndyCar Series driver Vitor Meira also competed in the event.

Following the event, Kanaan was among the winners at the 11th Capacete de Ouro Awards in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Kanaan edged two-time Indianapolis 500 winner Helio Castroneves in the voting in the TOP category, which honors the top Brazilian racing in the United States. A panel of Brazilian journalists vote for Capacete de Ouro awards in 13 categories. They are considered the "Academy Awards" of Brazilian auto racing.