FIA-GT championship to split

FIA-GT in Dubai

In 2010, the FIA GT Championship will evolve into two separate series, with a World Championship for GT1 cars and a European Championship for GT2 cars.

These Championships will follow new GT1 and GT2 Technical Regulations, to be published following the next World Motor Sport Council in December 2007. They will be based on the concept that 2010 cars will be heavier but more powerful, using production engines, with output controlled by various means including a standard ECU. The new specifications will also seek to reduce operating costs.

The rest of the Technical Regulations will be based on the current GT2 regulations, with some additional aero modifications permitted for GT1. The regulations for the FIA GT3 European Championship will remain the same.

2008 Calendar FIA GT Championship
20/4 GB Silverstone
18/5 I Monza
21/6 I Adria
6/7 D Oschersleben
3/8 B 24 Hours of Spa*
31/8 RO Bucharest Challenge 28**
14/9 CZ Brno
28/9 F Nogaro
19/10 B Zolder
23/11 RA San Luis

Leave a Reply