Biagi wins FIA-GT title for Maserati at Zolder

The final round of 2007 saw an exciting race, won by Jetalliance's Wendlinger and Sharp, the duo managing to convert their pole position into victory for the third time this season. Second went to local heros PK Carsport with their Corvette C5R driven by Kumpen and Longin. However, third today for the nr 1 Vitaphone Racing Team Maserati MC12 was enough for Thomas Biagi to claim the 2007 title. The Italian commented : "This is a special result, as for an Italian driver I have now won two Championships – one with a Ferrari in 2003, and now with a Maserati."

Their win today propelled Wendlinger and Sharp up into joint second in the Drivers Classification, with Hezemans and Deletraz third.

As for GT2, Dirk Müller and Toni Vilander claimed the title in style, starting from pole position and winning the title in their AF Corse Motorola Ferrari 430 GT2. The two drivers, both in their first full season in the FIA GT Championship, finished ahead of the nr 74 Ebimotors Porsche of Zani and Pompidou – claiming their first podium of the season – and the nr 59 Advanced Engineering Ferrari of Rui Aguas and Maurizio Mediani.

The other GT2 title contenders, the nr 97 BMS Porsche and the nr 51 AF Corse Motorola Ferrari, finished in fourth and fifth places respectively.


Pos Cl. Drivers Make Time
1. GT1 Wendlinger/Sharp Aston Martin DBR9 2:00:31
2. GT1 Kumpen/Longin Corvette C5R + 32.969
3. GT1 Biagi/Bartels Maserati MC12 GT1 + 33.650
4. GT1 Hezemans/Deletraz Corvette C6R + 36.021
5. GT1 Montanari/Ramos Maserati MC12 GT1 + 43.857
6. GT1 Menten/Kox Lamborghini Murcielago+ 54.207
7. GT1 Gounon/Monfardini Aston Martin DBR9 +1:01.85
8. GT1 Bertolini/Piccini Maserati MC12 GT1 + 1 lap
9. GT1 Lechner/Lichtner-Hoyer Aston Martin DBR9 + 2 laps
10. GT1 Aucott/Daoudi Maserati MC12 GT1 + 3 laps
11. GT1 Soulet/Cloet Corvette C5R + 3 laps
12. GT2 Müller/Vilander Ferrari 430 GT2 + 3 laps
13. GT2 Zani/Pompidou Porsche 997 GT3 RSR + 3 laps
14. GT2 Aguas/Mediani Ferrari 430 GT2 + 3 laps
15. GT2 Collard/Malucelli Porsche 997 GT3 RSR + 3 laps
16. GT2 Bruni/Ortelli Ferrari 430 GT2 + 3 laps
17. GT2 Kirkaldy/Sugden Ferrari 430 GT2 + 3 laps
18. GT2 Mullen/Turner Ferrari 430 GT2 + 4 laps
19. GT2 Basseng/Lieb Porsche 997 GT3 RSR + 5 laps
20. G2 Leinders/Kuppens Gillet Vertigo + 5 laps
21. GT1 Bouchut/Duez Lamborghini Murcielago+ 7 laps
22. GT1 Kutemann/Waaijenberg Maserati MC12 GT1 + 7 laps


Cl. Drivers Make On lap
GT1 Deman/Van Campenhoud Corvette C6R 42
GT1 Fassler/Gollin Aston Martin DBR9 29
GT1 Peter/Hines Aston Martin DBR9 24
GT1 Pier Guidi/Giannoccaro Maserati MC12 GT1 18
GT1 Babini/Davies Aston Martin DBR9 17

Leave a Reply