Ganassi, Franchitti receive Autosport Awards

Dario Franchitti after winning the Indy 500

The accomplishments of Chip Ganassi's U.S. motorsports teams this year continue to be recognized. On Dec. 5, the team owner was presented with the John Bolster Award at the annual Autosport Awards in London. The award is named in honor of the magazine's first technical editor.

Additionally, Dario Franchitti, who won his second consecutive IZOD IndyCar Series championship and second Indianapolis 500, received the British Competition Driver of the Year award.

Ganassi Racing cars/drivers won the Indianapolis 500, the Daytona 500 and the Brickyard 400. As well, he claimed the IZOD IndyCar Series championship with Franchitti and the Grand Am Rolex Series title.

"I'm not sure we ever thought about winning all three races in the same year," Ganassi said in his acceptance speech. "It's a record that someone will try to break some day and I'm sure they will. Just not too soon, though."

Target Chip Ganassi Racing won four consecutive CART championships from 1996-99, and the team continued its success when it moved to the Indy Racing League in 2003 (Scott Dixon won the title that year). It has won the past four series championships between Dixon (2008) and Franchitti (2007, '09, '10).

Franchitti overcame the points advantage of Team Penske's Will Power in the season finale to claim the series title. He also won the inaugural A.J. Foyt Oval Championship award by totaling the most points in seven oval races during the season.

"It's a great feeling," said Franchitti, of Scotland. "It's good to come home and celebrate, to see my friends, colleagues and heroes. I have 75 people in Indianapolis (at the Target Chip Ganassi Racing IZOD IndyCar Series headquarters).

"It's great to have Chip Ganassi here, too. It didn't start off too well with Chip in NASCAR (2007). Chip was good enough to invite me to come back to drive in IndyCar, though. I hope I can keep racing for him for a long time to come. I'm more passionate about racing than I ever have been before."

Leave a Reply