Lucas Auer claims the winner’s trophy at the Nurburgring

Lucas Auer

Lucas Auer (kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport) became the winner of the 27th season race of the FIA Formula 3 European Championship. In a tight battle, the Austrian came out on top from Tom Blomqvist (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) and thus claimed the first win for his team kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport since the weekend at Pau, early May. Max Verstappen (Van Amersfoort Racing), who was dropped ten places on the grid following an engine change and thus started twelfth, ended up third at the 3.629 kilometers long Nurburgring sprint circuit. In the FIA Formula 3 European Championship drivers’ standings, the 16-year-old Dutchman remains in second place behind Esteban Ocon (Prema Powerteam). The Frenchman already retired after a collision on the opening lap, but still has a 77 points’ lead from Verstappen, who recently was integrated into the Red Bull Junior Team.

The opening stage of the race already provided plenty of action with an accident in the first corner. Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) and Esteban Ocon collided and spun. Nicholas Latifi (Prema Powerteam) couldn’t avoid the two cars and Dennis van de Laar (Prema Powerteam) damaged the rear of his car after contact with Latifi. After the incident, the safety car was deployed.

Racing resumed at the start of lap five. Lucas Auer took the opportunity and mounted an attack on Blomqvist, after which he was able to overtake him. On lap ten, the Austrian briefly had to slot in behind Blomqvist again, but he successfully countered straight away and claimed back the lead. He defended his first place until the checkered flag was out. Behind Auer and Blomqvist, Max Verstappen kept Antonio Fuoco under pressure in the battle for third, but initially, the Italian stayed in front. Only two laps before the end, Verstappen managed to overtake Fuoco and bring home third place. Behind Fuoco, the protégé of the Ferrari Driver Academy, in fourth, Jordan King crossed the line to finish fifth.

The battle for the positions in the midfield was also highly entertaining. Roy Nissany (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport) attacked Félix Serralles (Team West-Tec F3) several times and eventually managed to overtake the driver from Puerto Rico to finish sixth. Behind Serralles, Tatiana Calderon (Jo Zeller Racing), the only lady racer in the field, took the flag in eighth place. Jake Dennis (Carlin) and Jules Szymkowiak (Van Amersfoort Racing) rounded out the top ten.

Lucas Auer (kfzteile24 Mücke Motorsport): “I made a good start, after which I was able to move up into second place right away. During the safety car phase, it was clear that my only chance to overtake Tom would be to mount an attack right after the restart, and that is what I did. But even though I have won here, we are still lacking the speed to be in contention for victory on a regular basis."

Results – 24 laps:

Pos Driver Team/Car Gap
1. Lucas Auer Mucke Dallara-Merc +0.000s
2. Tom Blomqvist Carlin Dallara-VW +0.476s
3. Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW +3.623s
4. Antonio Fuoco Prema Dallara-Merc +4.945s
5. Jordan King Carlin-Dallara VW +5.238s
6. Roy Nissany Mucke Dallara-Merc +17.415s
7. Felix Serralles West-Tec Dallara-Merc +18.599s
8. Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc +19.434s
9. Jake Dennis Carlin Dallara-VW +20.175s
10. Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW +20.770s
11. Sean Gelael Carlin Dallara-VW +21.295s
12. Alexander Toril T-Sport Dallara-NBE +23.088s
13. Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW +26.453s
14. Santino Ferruci Eurointernational Dallara-Merc +32.265s
15. Michele Beretta Eurointernational Dallara-Merc +44.592s
16. Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc +45.316s
17. Spike Goddard T-Sport Dallara-NBE +57.428s
18. Andy Chang West-Tec Dallara-Merc +1m01.300s
DNF Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Dallara-Merc 19 laps
DNF Esteban Ocon Prema Dallara-Merc 0 laps
DNF Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin Dallara-VW 0 laps
DNF Nicholas Latifi Prema Dallara-Merc 0 laps
DNF Dennis van der Laar Prema Dallara-Merc 0 laps
DNF Ed Jones Carlin Dallara-VW DNS

Championship positions with 6 races to go: 1. Ocon 402 – 2. Verstappen 325 – 3. Blomqvist 315 – 4. Auer 283 – 5. Fuoco 237 – 6. Giovinazzi 173 – 7. King 172 – 8. Rosenqvist 154 – 9. Dennis 154 – 10. Latifi 108

Leave a Reply