Giovinazzi wins from Blomqvist after Verstappen drama


At the 3.629 kilometers long Nurburgring, Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) celebrated his second FIA Formula 3 European Championship of the season. The Italian benefited from the retirement of long-time leader Max Verstappen (Van Amersfoort Racing), who stopped due to a technical problem with five laps remaining. Brit Tom Blomqvist (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin) and Frenchman Esteban Ocon (Prema Powerteam) claimed the remaining slots on the winners’ podium. In the FIA Formula 3 European Championship standings, Lotus Formula 1 junior driver Esteban Ocon has extended his lead from second-placed Verstappen again. Ocon now has 92 points more than Verstappen, who was included into the Red Bull Junior Team early last week.

At the start, Max Verstappen took the lead from second place on the grid while Tom Blomqvist, who started from pole position, dropped back to third behind Verstappen and Antonio Giovinazzi. Later on, Blomqvist had to battle for third with a charging Esteban Ocon. At the same time, Antonio Giovinazzi put Max Verstappen under pressure in the duel for the lead. Initially, both Verstappen and Blomqvist were able to defend their respective positions. On lap 20, however, the 16-year-old Dutchman suddenly slowed down and stopped and the four years older Antonio Giovinazzi inherited the lead. Eventually, the Italian scored his second victory of the season from team-mate Tom Blomqvist and Esteban Ocon.

Antonio Fuoco (Prema Powerteam) took the chequered flag in fourth place, followed by Lucas Auer (kfteile24 Mucke Motorsport), Jordan King (Carlin), Felix Rosenqvist (kfzteile24 Mucke Motorsport) and Edward Jones (Carlin). Tatiana Calderon (Jo Zeller Racing) was classified ninth. Thus, the only lady racer in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship field scored points for the fifth time this season already. Nicholas Latifi (Prema Powerteam) concluded the 26th race of the season in tenth place.

Antonio Giovinazzi (Jagonya Ayam with Carlin): “My start was really good, I was able to overtake Tom straight away and then I was behind Max. When Max suddenly stopped, I could take the lead. I feel sorry for Max, but that is racing. On the other hand, I don’t think I would have been able to overtake him had it not been for his problem."

Results – 25 laps:

Pos Driver Team/Car Behind
1. Antonio Giovinazzi Carlin Dallara-VW +0.000s
2. Tom Blomqvist Carlin Dallara-VW +0.771s
3. Esteban Ocon Prema Dallara-Merc +1.404s
4. Antonio Fuoco Prema Dallara-Merc +3.294s
5. Lucas Auer Mucke Dallara-Merc +4.674s
6. Jordan King Carlin-Dallara VW +5.101s
7. Felix Rosenqvist Mucke Dallara-Merc +7.078s
8. Ed Jones Carlin Dallara-VW +15.488s
9. Tatiana Calderon Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc +18.511s
10. Nicholas Latifi Prema Dallara-Merc +19.100s
11. Roy Nissany Mucke Dallara-Merc +20.277s
12. Dennis van der Laar Prema Dallara-Merc +21.717s
13. Gustavo Menezes Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW +31.907s
14. Jules Szymkowiak Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW +40.530s
15. Spike Goddard T-Sport Dallara-NBE +41.206s
16. Alexander Toril T-Sport Dallara-NBE +41.247s
17. Santino Ferruci Eurointernational Dallara-Merc +47.283s
18. Michele Beretta Eurointernational Dallara-Merc +48.368s
19. Sandro Zeller Jo Zeller Dallara-Merc +56.268s
20. Andy Chang West-Tec Dallara-Merc +1m06.446s
21. Sean Gelael Carlin Dallara-VW -2 laps
DNF Felix Serralles West-Tec Dallara-Merc 21 laps
DNF Max Verstappen Van Amersfoort Dallara-VW 19 laps
DNF Jake Dennis Carlin Dallara-VW 14 laps

Leave a Reply