Franchitti, Hawksworth earn BRDC Honors

Indianapolis 500 winner Dario Franchitti and Star Mazda Champion Jack Hawksworth were among the honorees of the British Racing Drivers Club at its annual awards on Dec. 3 in London.

Franchitti, who won his third Indianapolis 500 title in May, was awarded the Earl Howe Trophy as the highest-placed British driver in the Indy 500, or the British driver who has established the most meritorious performance of the year in North America.

Hawksworth, who clinched the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear in record-setting fashion, was awarded the Henry Surtees Trophy for the most outstanding performance by a BRDC Rising Star.

Leave a Reply